Anthropology
Selected resources in Anthropology
Research & Instruction Librarians
Research & Instruction Librarian
Welcome
This guide is intended to provide links to information resources for researching topics in Anthropology.
Use the Navigation Bar on the left to access information resources and tools.
Best Bets
- Anthropological Literature This link opens in a new window Comprehensive index for the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Includes articles, essays, reports, commentaries, and obituaries.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window Provides research articles on anthropology, archaeology, and biological, cultural and linguistic anthropology. Individual account setup within allows personalization options such as saved searches and email alerts.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
Additional Library Guides you might wish to consult:
Featured Journals
New Ebook titles
WorldCat Search
Streaming Video Platforms
A mix of streaming video platforms providing access to both academic and feature films.
- Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new windowDPLA materials come from America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of these are freely available and include; photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, etc.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStreaming video platform offering thousands of multidisciplinary videos.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowVideo streaming service offering films from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films. Videos and clips can be embedded into Moodle.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowSwank Digital Campus is an online streaming service that provides access to thousands of feature films, documentaries, foreign films and TV shows suitable for any academic department. Faculty can sign up for an instructor account and select titles to stream for their classes. Titles are available for one year from the initial request date.
