Anthropology
Article Databases
- Anthropological Literature This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index for the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Includes articles, essays, reports, commentaries, and obituaries.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowProvides research articles on anthropology, archaeology, and biological, cultural and linguistic anthropology. Individual account setup within allows personalization options such as saved searches and email alerts.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annually synthesizes primary research literature and identifies principal contributions in many disciplines. Full-text available for online titles.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly journals, books, and dissertations covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from before European contact to the present.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowIndexes Western language literature including books, chapters from books, periodical articles and pamphlets on Asian studies.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books, conference papers, government documents and research reports in the area of family studies.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly journals, books, and conference papers in the social sciences and humanities covering the field of Latin American studies.
- HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new windowContains Spanish and English language articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in key national and international social science and humanities journals.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides literature including journal articles and book chapters on linguistics and related language science fields. Covers all aspects of linguistics, from phonetics to semantics, and the various fields of linguistics (geographical, comparative, etc.).
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAccess to information about international literature in psychology and related disciplines including psychiatry, education, nursing, pharmacology, law and social work. Indexes journals, books, conference papers, dissertations and technical reports.
- Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, books and dissertations on national and international race/ethnicity relations, both contemporary and historical.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowCovers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research including the areas of sociology, history, political science, international relations, arts and humanities, business, and education.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Contains publication in the area of health and medicine research. Includes MedLine which records are indexed with NLM's controlled vocabulary, the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). Links to full-text online holdings are listed where the citations match Macalester Library e-journal resources.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large collection of scholarly journals and books from all disciplines, with stronger coverage for the humanities and social sciences. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowAccess to journals in the humanities and social sciences, covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.
- Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Compilation of surveys conducted by polling organizations in the United States and more than 100 other countries. All surveys reported were conducted using scientifically selected random samples.
- BASE This link opens in a new window
A search engine for academic web resources - includes journals, institutional repositories, digital collections etc. Many open access resources.
- Social Science Open Access Repository This link opens in a new windowDatabase of open access journal articles and working papers in the social sciences. Useful for finding scholarship written and published outside of the U.S. Use the Disciplines feature to limit your search to a specific subject area.
Newspaper Resources & Data Guide
- Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- PressReader Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Primary sources can be found in many different places, most commonly in libraries, archives, museums, and in the case of digitized primary sources, online databases. A primary source is a first-hand or contemporary account of an event or topic.
Examples of Primary Sources
- letters
- diaries
- minutes
- photographs
- artifacts
- interviews
- sound and video recordings
- oral histories
- newspaper articles
- journal articles
- research studies
- memoirs
- autobiographies
Primary sources may be transformed from their original format into a newer one, such as when materials are published or digitized, but the contents are still primary. There are many primary sources available online today, but many more are still available in their original format, in archives, museums, libraries, historical sites, and elsewhere.