Sociology
Research & Instruction Librarian
Research & Instruction Librarian
Welcome
Welcome to the Sociology Subject Guide.
This research guide is intended to provide links to information resources, both online and in print, for researching topics in Sociology
Please refer to the links posted on the left-navigation bar.
Core Resources
-
Sociological Abstracts Indexes the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
-
Annual Reviews
Annually synthesizes primary research literature and identifies principal contributions in many disciplines. Full-text available for online titles.
-
Google Scholar Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.
-
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
-
Web of Science Note: The library has begun a subscription to Scopus as a replacement for our Web of Science subscription. Access to Web of Science will end on December 31, 2025. Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
Finding Books (and more) in Worldcat
You can locate books (and other materials) in Macalester's collections and beyond using Worldcat Discovery. Use the filters on the left-hand side of your search results to limit your search results to print books or ebooks specifically, or to other formats if/as needed.
Pro tip: Try using the subject headings search to expand your search results and find related sources. For example, search Selected eBook Titles
Finding Online Journals by Subject
-
BrowZine
BrowZine allows you to browse, read, and follow scholarly journals that are available to you online through the library, including both subscribed and open access titles. Compatible with Android and iOS mobile devices. Useful for keeping track of your favorite journals, and allows you to see and explore similar titles.
Featured Journals
Research Consultations
Please don't hesitate to reach out to either of us.
Our contact information and calendars are on on our Profile pictures (left-hand side).