Political Science
Research & Instruction Librarian
Research & Instruction Librarian
Welcome
This research guide is intended to provide links to information resources, both online and in print, for researching topics in political science.
Best Bets
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides access to journal articles in political science related fields including law, public administration/policy, and international relations.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIndexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
View the full list of databases our Library subscribes in the A-Z list of databases
Featured Journals
E-Books
Search the Library Catalog
Streaming Media
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription that supports the entire range of curriculum, from anthropology to zoology. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
- Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
DPLA materials come from America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of these are freely available and include; photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, etc. - Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStreaming video platform offering thousands of multidisciplinary videos.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowVideo streaming service offering films from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films. Videos and clips can be embedded into Moodle.
- Platino Educa This link opens in a new windowPlatino Educa offers unlimited access to hundreds of Spanish and Ibero-American movies, classified by subjects and covering themes across the Environment, Social Sciences, Language and Literature, Arts, and Social Justice.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowSwank Digital Campus is an online streaming service that provides access to thousands of feature films, documentaries, foreign films and TV shows suitable for any academic department. Faculty can sign up for an instructor account and select titles to stream for their classes. Titles are available for one year from the initial request date.
