Political Science
Selected resources for Political Science
Topic Overviews: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
-
Credo Reference
Access to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
-
eBooks (Gale)Search across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
-
Cambridge CoreCombines Cambridge book and journal content. To limit your search to materials that are accessible to Macalester users, check the "Only search content I have access to" box below the search box.
-
Oxford Reference OnlineResource of reference materials such as dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Provides database-wide searching, subject searching across sources, and individual title searching.
-
CQ ResearcherAccess to original reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
-
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
by
ISBN: 9780195117394Publication Date: 2001The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World, Second Edition is an accessible, timely, thought-provoking, and comprehensive reference that captures the complexity and vitality of contemporary world affairs. -
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science
by
ISBN: 9780631206958Publication Date: 1999The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science provides students and general readers with a clear and lively introduction to the terminology of political science. -
The Encyclopedia of Political Thought
by
ISBN: 9781118474396Publication Date: 2015The Encyclopedia of Political Thought is the most comprehensive and rigorous treatment of significant political thinkers, political theories, concepts, ideas, and schools of thought. Comprises over 900 A-Z entries, including brief definitions, biographies, and major topics, written by a team of 700 contributors from around the world Explores key theories and theorists, including non-western perspectives, in tracing the evolution of political thought from antiquity to the present day Published in association with The Foundations of Political Theory, an organized section of the American Political Science Association 8 Volumes www.encyclopediaofpoliticalthought.com
-
The World FactbookProduced by the CIA, each country's profile includes such information as demographics, political, economic, and geographic data.
-
One World - Nations OnlineFor each country there is a profile with facts and figures, about the country's geography, its flag, statistics, maps, images, and links to sources that will provide you with more information about a nation. Includes a CITEIS search option.
-
World Bank Countries & RegionsProvides country profiles, statistics, and general reports.
-
Library of Congress: Country StudiesEach Country Study includes information on the economic, political, and social system of a particular country. Also discussed are the people, their beliefs and values, and their interpersonal relationships. Covers 101 countries and regions.
-
Political Risk YearbookThis source is available via Business Source Premier. In the search box, type Political Risk Yearbook with the name of the country you're researching. Make sure to notice dates of reports!