Political Science
Article Databases (Scholarship)
Please note:
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
A full-text research database covering political topics with a worldwide focus, including international relations, political theory and comparative politics.
Trial ends: May 29, 2025. Please share your feedback about this resource using our Trial Database Evaluation Form!
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides access to journal articles in political science related fields including law, public administration/policy, and international relations.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
- CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window Documents and articles devoted to research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Interdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Large collection of scholarly journals and books from all disciplines, with stronger coverage for the humanities and social sciences. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Access to journals in the humanities and social sciences, covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Provides articles, industry reports, and more on subject areas related to business, with top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Access to research in areas related to cultural studies, communication and mass media studies, rhetoric, speech, and digital, electronic and new media.
- BASE This link opens in a new window A search engine for academic web resources - includes journals, institutional repositories, digital collections etc. Many open access resources.
- Social Science Open Access Repository This link opens in a new window Database of open access journal articles and working papers in the social sciences. Useful for finding scholarship written and published outside of the U.S. Use the Disciplines feature to limit your search to a specific subject area.
Newspaper, Legal, Thinks Tanks/Policy, and Regional Resources
- Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Credible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
- US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCurrent U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of hundreds of national, regional, and international newspapers, as well as newswires and TV and radio news transcripts.
- PressReader Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of newspapers from over 100 countries and 60 languages. Includes 90 days of back issues and translation in 16 languages. Create a PressReader account in order to save articles, create collections, and read content offline. Must be on campus or connected to the VPN to create an account.
- AfricaBib This link opens in a new window
A collection of Africana social science titles consisting of 2 bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature and African Women's literature.
- African Journals Online (AJOL) This link opens in a new windowThe world’s largest online library of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowIndexes Western language literature including books, chapters from books, periodical articles and pamphlets on Asian studies.
- HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new windowContains Spanish and English language articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in key national and international social science and humanities journals.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly journals, books, and conference papers in the social sciences and humanities covering the field of Latin American studies.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of more than 2,600 law-related periodicals. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Credible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
- Harvard Kennedy School Think Tank SearchA Think Tank search engine that searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
Selected Think Tanks:
Liberal:
Center for American Progress (CAP)
American think tank that conducts research and education in the social sciences, primarily in economics, metropolitan policy, governance, foreign policy, global economy, and economic development.
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
American think tank that analyzes the impact of federal and state government budget policies from a progressive perspective.
Human Rights Watch
A nonprofit, nongovernmental human rights organization made up of roughly 400 staff members around the globe
Conservative:
The Heritage Foundation
American conservative think tank based in Washington, D.C. It advances the principles of free enterprise, limited government, and individual freedom.
American Enterprise Institute
A conservative think tank based in Washington, D.C. Its research is dedicated to issues of government, politics, economics and social welfare.
CATO Institute
American libertarian think tank, it was established to have a focus on public advocacy, media exposure and societal influence.
Centrist/Non-Partisan:
Brookings Institution
American think tank that conducts research and education in the social sciences, primarily in economics, metropolitan policy, governance, foreign policy, global economy, and economic development.
Center for Strategic and International Studies
The center conducts policy studies and strategic analyses of political, economic and security issues throughout the world, with a specific focus on issues concerning international relations, trade, technology, finance, energy and geo-strategy.
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan American think tank. It provides information on social issues, public opinion, and demographic trends shaping the United States and the world.