German Studies
Search the Library Catalog
German and English Dictionaries
Oxford German Dictionary by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780199545681Publication Date: 2008-09-18The 'Oxford German Dictionary' is a valuable bilingual reference tool for students, academics and language professionals.
Pocket Oxford German dictionary : English German by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780191735103Publication Date: 2009Essential vocabulary, clear translations, usage and grammar help in this English-German dictionary.
Pocket Oxford German dictionary : German-English by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780191739521Publication Date: 2009Essential vocabulary, clear translations, usage and grammar help in this German-English dictionary.
- WordReference English-German DictionaryThe WordReference English-German Dictionary is a living, growing dictionary. It contains terms and translations in both English and German.
Ginny Moran
she/her
Contact:
Library, Room 303
vmoran@macalester.edu
vmoran@macalester.edu
651-696-6398
Subjects: Art & Art History, Asian Languages and Cultures, Classical Mediterranean and Middle East, English, French and Francophone Studies, German Studies, History, Media and Cultural Studies, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian Studies, Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin American Studies, Theater and Dance, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Related Guides
Saint Paul Public Library
St. Paul Public Library has more than 42,000 ebooks and 300 audiobooks that you can check out online, including an extensive fiction collection.
As a Macalester College student, you can use the college's address to sign up for an E-card to allow you to use online resources from the St. Paul Public Library at https://sppl.org/ecard. Once you've registered, you can borrow and download ebooks and audiobooks to view on an e-reader, computer, or mobile device.
Databases for German Studies
Because the classes and research projects in German Studies follow a variety of pathways, you'll see here a range of databases with particular specializations. Choose appropriate databases based on your individual project. Not sure where to start? That's a good time to set up an appointment with your librarian.
PRO TIP: When searching specialized, subject-specific databases like MLA International Bibliography, starting with fewer terms or phrases can be helpful. You'll need to use more targeted language when searching interdisciplinary databases like Google Scholar or Academic Search Premier.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess to research in areas related to cultural studies, communication and mass media studies, rhetoric, speech, and digital, electronic and new media.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowProvides access to international publications on music and other performance arts, such as dance. Includes a variety of publication types including journal articles, ethnographic recordings, and reviews. Relevant for research on performance studies, education, literature, and more.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides literature including journal articles and book chapters on linguistics and related language science fields. Covers all aspects of linguistics, from phonetics to semantics, and the various fields of linguistics (geographical, comparative, etc.).
- Literary Sources (Gale) This link opens in a new windowGale Literary Sources allows users to search across several literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
- MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco) This link opens in a new windowThe primary database for literary and film scholarship.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIndexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes three citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Main superpower: cited reference searching.
International and German Language News Sources
- Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new windowInternational, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowCredible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
Browsing Macalester's collections
| German History (Located on the 4th floor of the library) |
German Literature (Located on the 3rd floor of the library) |
|---|---|
| DD1-(905) History of Germany DD1-21 General DD21.5-43 Description and travel DD51-78 Antiquities. Social life and customs. Ethnography DD84-257.4 History DD84-96 General DD99-120 Military, naval, and political history. Foreign relations DD121-257.4 By period DD121-124 Earliest to 481 DD125-174.6 Early and medieval to 1519 DD126-155 Medieval Empire, 481-1273 DD127-135 481-918. Merovingians. Carolingians DD136-144 919-1125. Houses of Saxony and Franconia DD145-155 1125-1273. Hohenstaufen period DD156-174.6 1273-1519. Houses of Habsburg and Luxemburg DD175-257.4 Modern, 1519 DD176-189 1519-1648. Reformation and Counter-reformation DD181-183 Peasants’ War, 1524-1525 DD184-184.7 Schmalkaldic League and War, 1530-1547 DD189 Period of Thirty Years’ War, 1618-1648 DD190-199 1648-1815. 18th century. French Revolutionary and Napoleonic period DD201-257.4 19th-20th centuries DD206-216 1815-1871 DD217-231 New Empire, 1871-1918 DD228.8 Period of World War I, 1914-1918 DD233-257.4 Revolution and Republic, 1918 DD253-256.8 Hitler, 1933-1945. National socialism DD(256) Period of World War II, 1939-1945 DD257-257.4 Period of Allied occupation, 1945 DD258-262 West Germany DD280-289.5 East Germany DD301-454 Prussia DD301-312 General DD314-320 Description and travel DD325-339 Antiquities. Social life and customs. Ethnography DD341-454 History DD701-901 Local history and description DD701-788 North and Central, Northeast, etc. Germany DD801 States, provinces, regions, etc., A-Z DD851-900 Berlin DD900.2-900.76 Bonn DD901 Other cities, towns, etc., A-Z |
PT1-4897 German literature PT1-80 Literary history and criticism PT83-(873) History of German literature PT175-230 Medieval PT236-405 Modern PT500-597 Poetry PT605-709 Drama PT711-871 Prose PT(881)-(951) Folk literature PT923-937 Faust legend PT1100-1479 Collections PT1100-1141 General PT1151-1241 Poetry PT1251-1299 Drama PT1301-1360 Prose PT1371-(1374) Early to 1950. Old and Middle High German PT1375-1479 Middle High German PT1501-2688 Individual authors or works PT1501-1695 Middle High German, ca. 1050-1450/1500 PT1701-1797 1500-ca. 1700 PT1799-2592 1700-ca. 1860/70 PT1891-2239 Goethe PT1891-2017 Works PT2026-(2039) Translations PT(2044)-2239 Biography and criticism PT2600-2653 1860/70-1960 PT2660-2688 1961-2000 PT2700-2728 2001- PT3701-3971 Provincial, local, colonial, etc. PT3701-3746 East Germany PT4801-4897 Low German literature |
Featured Journals
- Der Spiegel Der Spiegel is a German weekly news magazine published in Hamburg. With a weekly circulation of 840,000 copies, it is the largest such publication in Europe.
- Deutsche Vierteljahrsschrift für Literaturwissenschaft und Geistesgeschichte Die Deutsche Vierteljahrsschrift für Literaturwissenschaft und Geistesgeschichte (DVjs) gilt als die führende Fachzeitschrift der deutschsprachigen Germanistik.Die vier Hefte pro Jahr bieten fächerübergreifende Beiträge aus den Bereichen Literaturwissenschaft, Philosophie und Kulturgeschichte.
- German Quarterly The German Quarterly serves as a forum for all sorts of scholarly debates - topical, ideological, methodological, theoretical, of both the established and the experimental variety, as well as debates on recent developments in the profession. -- from journal homepage
International Archives & Special Collections
- Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek The DDB aims "to bring together and network digital content from all of Germany’s cultural and scientific institutions." Feeds into Europeana.
- Europeana This site allows you to search across the digital archives and holdings of many significant European galleries, archives, libraries, and museums, including Judaica Europeana, Bodleian Libraries, EuroPhoto, the Natural Europe Project, and Museo Galileo.
- Federal Archives (Germany) Official archives of Germany; database of documents, media, maps.
- Projekt Gutenberg - DE Public domain texts
- Filmportal.de Open resource for German film and media studies in both German and English (abridged).
Local Resources and Organizations
A handful of links to local resources and organizations in the Twin Cities to kick-start your research process.
- Germanic American InstituteThe Germanic-American Institute operates with a commitment to the following principles: community, language, education, authenticity, stewardship, social responsibility, and celebration.
- MNHS Newspaper Hub"The Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub is a searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that makes millions of pages of Minnesota newspapers available online. The Hub contains geographically and culturally diverse newspapers published between 1849 and today. Due to potential copyright restrictions most issues published less than 95 years ago can only be accessed from the Gale Family Library at the Minnesota History Center." --MNHS Website
- Der WandererDer Wanderer (St. Paul, Minn.) 1867-1957, St. Paul's German Catholic newspaper, in German. Complemented by the English language version, The Wanderer (St. Paul, Minn.) 1931-current, with issues accessible at the Gale Family Library at the Minnesota History Center.