German Studies
Selected resources for German Studies.
Research & Instruction Librarian
Find Articles
German Open Access Journals
Literature and Film
-
MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco) The primary database for literary and film scholarship.
-
Literary Sources (Gale) Gale Literary Sources allows users to search across several literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
-
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text Covers film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
History
-
Historical Abstracts Index covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
German Linguistics
-
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Provides literature including journal articles and book chapters on linguistics and related language science fields. Covers all aspects of linguistics, from phonetics to semantics, and the various fields of linguistics (geographical, comparative, etc.).
-
AnthroSource Provides research articles on anthropology, archaeology, and biological, cultural and linguistic anthropology. Individual account setup within allows personalization options such as saved searches and email alerts.
Media Studies and Politics
-
Communication and Mass Media Complete Access to research in areas related to cultural studies, communication and mass media studies, rhetoric, speech, and digital, electronic and new media.
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Provides access to journal articles in political science related fields including law, public administration/policy, and international relations.
Performing and Fine Arts
-
Art Full Text The main database for research in art and art history. Includes both popular and academic titles.
-
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Index of international publications on music and other performance arts, such as dance. Includes a variety of publication types including journal articles, ethnographic recordings, and reviews. Relevant for research on performance studies, education, literature, and more.
Reference Resources for German Studies
-
Primary Sources (Gale)
Search across our Gale primary source databases; find historical newspapers and primary documents, mainly from the United States and Great Britain.
-
Literary Sources (Gale)Gale Literary Sources allows users to search across several literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
-
Literary Reference PlusA full-text database that provides information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
-
Oxford Reference OnlineBrowse Oxford's dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference titles in literature, media studies, language studies, and many other areas.
-
Credo ReferenceCredo offers a wide range of literary reference materials, as well as handy overview pages on popular topics.
-
eBooks (Gale)Search across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
-
Poetry Foundation The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience. Contains overviews and poems from a wide range of notable poets.
Newspapers and Periodicals
Recent Newspapers
-
US Newsstream (ProQuest) Current and archived news from over 700 United States and international news sources, including the Star Tribune, New York Times, The Times of London, and The Wall Street Journal.
-
Nexis Uni Offers a large selection of newspapers, periodicals, and wire services from around the world.
-
Access World News: Research Collection International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips.
Historical Newspapers - International
-
Center for Research Libraries' Newspaper Collections CRL's collection of rare, historical newspapers from across the globe, available on microfilm or digitized. Inquire with librarians for more information.
Historical US Newspapers and Periodicals
-
Newspapers.com Library Edition Full-text of local newspapers from the United States, including Minnesota, dating from the 1700s to the 2000s. Limited additional coverage of local newspapers from other countries.
-
Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub The Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub is a searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that makes millions of pages of Minnesota newspapers available online. The Hub contains geographically and culturally diverse newspapers published between 1849 and today. Due to potential copyright restrictions most issues published less than 95 years ago can only be accessed from the Gale Family Library at the Minnesota History Center. --Website
-
New York Times Archive Searchable full text of the New York Times from the first issue in 1851 to 4 years ago. Includes full page and article images. Most recent years of the Times can be searched in US Newsstream or New York Times - Digital Microfilm.
-
America's Historical Newspapers Early American Newspapers from 1690-1922 and African American Newspapers from 1827-1998.
-
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections Digitized images from American magazines and journals held by the American Antiquarian Society, documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Includes over 6,500 titles featuring more than 10 million pages of content. Also titles in more than two dozen languages including French, German, Norwegian, Spanish.
-
Independent Voices Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
-
Chronicling America A free, searchable database of historic United States newspapers pages from 1836-1922.
Historical British Newspapers and Periodicals
-
The Times Historical Archive, 1785–2019 (Gale Primary Sources) Full-text and full-image archive to the Times of London for the years 1785-2019.
-
British Library Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) Contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society. Coverage: 1800-1900.
-
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals (Gale Primary Sources) Access to resources covering the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world.
Online Newspaper Collections
Wikipedia has a list of newspapers that are available online, sorted by country. Keep in mind that this list could be out of date and/or incomplete.
German Newspapers
-
Focus Online The third largest weekly news magazine in Germany; recent content only with subscription, the archive offers full-text for free, starting with 1993.
-
Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung FAZ is a leading national newspaper; searching theindex of the archive from 1993 to present is free; access to full-text is fee-based; the FAZ archive has two parts: F.A.Z. 49-92, and F.A.Z.-BiblioNet (1993 ff.).
-
Frankfurter Rundschau It is the largest newspaper in the Rhein- Main area, searching the index is free, access to full-text is fee-based.
-
GENIOS Presse It offers a search across 180 newspapers from 1983 to the present, some free content; access to some full-text is fee-based.
-
Die Presse (Austria) full-text content from 2001
-
Der Spiegel (news journal) a weekly political jpurnal; recent content is only available with a subscription, next link, the Spiegel Archiv 1947-offers free full-text.
-
Spiegel Archiv 1947 The Spiegel Archiv 1947-offers free full-text versions of articles in Der Spiegel.
-
Süddeutsche Zeitung Founded in 1945, is the largest national daily. “today’s issue” is freely available; but the next day that content is only available for a fee or with subscription.
-
Der Stern (news journal) largest popular weekly journal on politics, culture and science; offers mostly preview of articles
-
Die Tageszeitung taz Founded in 1979; archive offers free plain text starting with 1986
-
Die Welt It was founded in 1946, searching the index to the archive is free , selected free content starts with 1995, the advances search allows
-
Die Zeit Print Archiv (1946-) It offers free full-text, but the archive does not contain everything that is in the print edition
-
ANNO: Austrian Newspapers Online Digitization project for Austrian newspapers (late 19th and early 20th century).
-
Compact Memory: Retrospektive Digitalisierung jüdischer Periodika im deutschsprachigen Raum A major digitization project of Jewish German periodicals (mainly 19th and early 20th century).
-
DDR Presse Part of ZEFYS (see below). Open access to three major East German papers -- Neues Deutschland, Berliner Zeitung, Neue Zeit (registration is required)
-
Europeana Includes some full-text newspaper collections
-
Exilpresse digital a selection of significant German exile magazines (1933-1945)
-
Historic German Newspapers Online Open access newspapers, a part of EuroDocs:Index deutschsprachiger Zeitschriften 1750-1815
-
ZEFYS: Zeitungsinformationssystem It provides 270.454 issues from 171 historical newspapers Includes DDR Presse and Amtspresse Preußens
-
Zeitgeschichtliches Archiv Zeitgeschichtliches Archiv of interest, in particular, for the period immediately after World War II. Indexes 9 million newspaper clippings. The search is free but there is a fee for obtaining copies of the documents.