International Studies

Provides access to journal articles in political science related fields including law, public administration/policy, and international relations.

Large collection of scholarly journals and books from all disciplines, with stronger coverage for the humanities and social sciences. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.

Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.

An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.

Note: The library has begun a subscription to Scopus as a replacement for our Web of Science subscription. Access to Web of Science will end on December 31, 2025. 

Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.

DPLA materials come from America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of these are freely available and include; photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, etc.

Streaming video platform offering thousands of multidisciplinary videos.

Video streaming service offering films from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films. Videos and clips can be embedded into Moodle.

Swank Digital Campus is an online streaming service that provides access to thousands of feature films, documentaries, foreign films and TV shows suitable for any academic department. Faculty can sign up for an instructor account and select titles to stream for their classes. Titles are available for one year from the initial request date.