Geography

• GEOBASE International index to the literature of geology, geography, urban geography, and ecology. Includes journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.
• Google Scholar Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.
• Scopus

  An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.

• Web of Science Note: The library has begun a subscription to Scopus as a replacement for our Web of Science subscription. Access to Web of Science will end on December 31, 2025. Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.

• BrowZine

  BrowZine allows you to browse, read, and follow scholarly journals that are available to you online through the library, including both subscribed and open access titles. Compatible with Android and iOS mobile devices. Useful for keeping track of your favorite journals, and allows you to see and explore similar titles.

• Academic Video Online

  Academic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription that supports the entire range of curriculum, from anthropology to zoology. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.

• Digital Public Library of America

  • This link opens in a new window

  DPLA materials come from America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of these are freely available and include; photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, etc.
• Films on Demand

  Streaming video platform offering thousands of multidisciplinary videos.
• Kanopy

  Video streaming service offering films from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films. Videos and clips can be embedded into Moodle.
• Platino Educa

  Platino Educa offers unlimited access to hundreds of Spanish and Ibero-American movies, classified by subjects and covering themes across the Environment, Social Sciences, Language and Literature, Arts, and Social Justice.
• Swank Digital Campus

  Swank Digital Campus is an online streaming service that provides access to thousands of feature films, documentaries, foreign films and TV shows suitable for any academic department. Faculty can sign up for an instructor account and select titles to stream for their classes. Titles are available for one year from the initial request date.