Geography
Selected resources in geography
Databases & Other Resources
- GEOBASE This link opens in a new windowInternational index to the literature of geology, geography, urban geography, and ecology. Includes journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIndexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls. - BASE This link opens in a new window
A search engine for academic web resources - includes journals, institutional repositories, digital collections etc. Many open access resources.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of scholarly journals and books from all disciplines, with stronger coverage for the humanities and social sciences. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowAccess to journals in the humanities and social sciences, covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.
- Social Science Open Access Repository This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Database of open access journal articles and working papers in the social sciences. Useful for finding scholarship written and published outside of the U.S. Use the Disciplines feature to limit your search to a specific subject area.
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowCatalog of the National Agricultural Library, providing citations to agricultural research literature.
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes peer reviewed journal articles, reports, pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts in the field of complementary and holistic health care.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides articles, industry reports, and more on subject areas related to business, with top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. - EconLit This link opens in a new windowCovers a wide range of economic literature including economic theory and application. Includes journals, books, dissertations, collective volumes, and working papers in the field of economics.
- CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new windowDocuments and articles devoted to research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies.
- Harvard Kennedy School Think Tank SearchA Google Custom Search of more than 1200 think tanks and research centers
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines as well as the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowContains publication in the area of health and medicine research. Includes MedLine which records are indexed with NLM's controlled vocabulary, the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). Links to full-text online holdings are listed where the citations match Macalester Library e-journal resources.
- Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, books and dissertations on national and international race/ethnicity relations, both contemporary and historical.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowProduced by the United States Bureau of the Census, covers social, political and economic statistics, abstracted from original sources. Older editions of this are in the main collection of the library. A web version is available, beginning with the year 1878.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides access to journal articles in political science related fields including law, public administration/policy, and international relations.
- Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new windowInternational, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowCredible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
- US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune. - New York Times Archive This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text of the New York Times from the first issue in 1851 to 4 years ago. Includes full page and article images. Most recent years of the Times can be searched in US Newsstream or New York Times - Digital Microfilm.
- AfricaBib This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of Africana social science titles consisting of 2 bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature and African Women's literature.
- African Journals Online (AJOL) This link opens in a new windowThe world’s largest online library of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowIndexes Western language literature including books, chapters from books, periodical articles and pamphlets on Asian studies.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) This link opens in a new windowIndex to scholarly journals, books, and conference papers in the social sciences and humanities covering the field of Latin American studies.
- HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new windowContains Spanish and English language articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in key national and international social science and humanities journals.