All Guides: FREN 194 Food in France and Francophone World: Local and Global: Getting Started

Search the Library Catalog

Best Bets

French Cooking in the Mac Library
A custom search in WorldCat for books on French cooking, including several historical works dating back to the 17th century.
Bloomsbury Food Library
Providing an extensive collection of food content, Bloomsbury Food Library offers students, researchers, and scholars an unprecedented insight into this diverse field of study.

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Call Number: Ebook
Alphabetical entries covering a broad range of topics in the area of food and culture. Topics range from specific foods and preparation methods to the social uses and implications of food and the pursuit of food. Bibliographies are provided for further study.

Food and Drink in History
Primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration & Cultural Exchange
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, books, and dissertations covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from before European contact to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
AfricaBib This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of Africana social science titles consisting of 2 bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature and African Women's literature.
African Journals Online (AJOL) This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest online library of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals.

Erudit Érudit is the largest disseminator of French-language resources in North America. Through its research platform, Érudit offers a centralized access to the majority of francophone publications in the social sciences and humanities from North America, including scholarly and cultural journals, books, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, as well as various research documents and data.
Perseé
A rich, open-access database of French-language research in the humanities.

ARTFL Project (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) This link opens in a new window
Access to French texts from the 12th through 20th centuries ranging from classic works of literature to non-fiction prose and technical writing.

Dictionnaire Alphabetique et Analogique de la Langue Francaise Call Number: MAC Reference PC2625 .R552 1992 An historical dictionary of the French language, it includes the etymology of the word along with definitions, antonyms and synonyms.

Streaming Film

Media

Local Resources and Organization

A handful of links to local resources and organizations in the Twin Cities to kick-start your research process.

Doris S. Kirschner Cookbook Collection The Doris S. Kirschner Cookbook Collection is located at the University of Minnesota’s Magrath Library on the St. Paul campus. It contains more than 5,600 items including cookbooks, pamphlets, and recipes ranging in date from 1890-present. The original collection was donated by Doris S. Kirschner in 1985 and has grown with further donations and acquisitions. the Kirschner Collection is intended to be used by the public as well as the University community. Items from the collection cannot be checked out, but may be photographed, scanned, or photocopied using equipment in the library.
Alliance Francaise of Minneapolis/Saint Paul The mission of Alliance Française Mpls/St Paul, an independent chapter of a worldwide organization, is to serve our community by promoting the use and appreciation of French language and cultures through language classes, cultural programs, social events and information resources.

Saint Paul Public Library

St. Paul Public Library has more than 42,000 ebooks and 300 audiobooks that you can check out online, including an extensive fiction collection.

As a Macalester College student, you can use the college's address to sign up for an E-card to allow you to use online resources from the St. Paul Public Library at https://sppl.org/ecard. Once you've registered, you can borrow and download ebooks and audiobooks to view on an e-reader, computer, or mobile device.

FREN 194 Food in France and Francophone World: Local and Global

Library Resources

Quick Links