French and Francophone Studies
Selected resources for French and Francophone Studies.
Research & Instruction Librarian
Ginny Moran
she/her
Contact:
Library, Room 303
vmoran@macalester.edu
vmoran@macalester.edu
651-696-6398
Subjects: Art & Art History, Asian Languages and Cultures, Classical Mediterranean and Middle East, English, French and Francophone Studies, German Studies, History, Media and Cultural Studies, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian Studies, Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin American Studies, Theater and Dance, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Quick Links
Saint Paul Public Library
St. Paul Public Library has more than 42,000 ebooks and 300 audiobooks that you can check out online, including an extensive fiction collection.
As a Macalester College student, you can use the college's address to sign up for an E-card to allow you to use online resources from the St. Paul Public Library at https://sppl.org/ecard. Once you've registered, you can borrow and download ebooks and audiobooks to view on an e-reader, computer, or mobile device.
Search the Library Catalog
Best Bets
- MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window The primary database for literary and film scholarship.
- Literary Sources (Gale) This link opens in a new window A collection of several literary databases, searchable in one interface.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Go here for articles and book reviews on topics in French history.
- AfricaBib This link opens in a new window A collection of Africana social science titles consisting of 2 bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature and African Women's literature.
This link opens in a new window
- African Journals Online (AJOL) This link opens in a new window The world’s largest online library of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals.
- Erudit Érudit is the largest disseminator of French-language resources in North America. Through its research platform, Érudit offers a centralized access to the majority of francophone publications in the social sciences and humanities from North America, including scholarly and cultural journals, books, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, as well as various research documents and data.
- Perseé A rich, open-access database of French-language research in the humanities.
- ARTFL Project (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) This link opens in a new windowAccess to French texts from the 12th through 20th centuries ranging from classic works of literature to non-fiction prose and technical writing.
- Gallica "Gallica is the digital library of the National Library of France and its partners. Online since 1997, it is enriched every week with thousands of new features and today offers access to several million documents." --Website
- This link opens in a new window
- Dictionnaire Alphabetique et Analogique de la Langue Francaise Call Number: MAC Reference PC2625 .R552 1992 An historical dictionary of the French language, it includes the etymology of the word along with definitions, antonyms and synonyms.
Featured Journals
- Revue Historique The journal’s identity is based on a methodical treatment of sources and an appeal to the humanities and social sciences, bringing a renewal to historical approaches and passing on acquired knowledge and recent research in the field of history.
- The French Review The official journal of the American Association of Teachers of French (AATF). They publish (in English and French) articles and reviews on French and Francophone literature, cinema, culture, linguistics, and pedagogy.
- French Literature Series "Since 1973 the French Literature Series has been published in conjunction with the annual French Literature Conference, sponsored by the Department of French and Classics of the University of South Carolina, Columbia, South Carolina, USA"--Journal home page.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowVideo streaming service offering films from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films. Videos and clips can be embedded into Moodle.
Local Resources and Organization
A handful of links to local resources and organizations in the Twin Cities to kick-start your research process.
- Alliance Francaise of Minneapolis/Saint Paul The mission of Alliance Française Mpls/St Paul, an independent chapter of a worldwide organization, is to serve our community by promoting the use and appreciation of French language and cultures through language classes, cultural programs, social events and information resources.
- African Development Center of Minnesota The Mission of the African Development Center is to grow businesses, build wealth, and increase reinvestment in the African communities of Minnesota.
- French-American Chamber of Commerce of Minnesota The FACCMN, an independent and not-for-profit organization, boasts a network of more than one hundred individuals and corporate members, as well as a mailing list nearing 2,000 individual and corporate members, as well as a mailing list nearing 2,000 individuals. Our region in the middle of the country benefits from an economic vitality, diverse and attractive markets, a highly educated work force, which makes it very attractive for new investment, especially in the life sciences and agri-business industries.
- L'Etoile du Nord French Immersion School L 'Etoile du Nord is a Pre-K through 5th grade French immersion public school in St. Paul.