All Guides: French and Francophone Studies: Primary Sources

Books, Images and Ephemera Online

Gallica
A digital library created by La Bibliotheque Nationale de France.
Europeana
This site allows you to search across the digital archives and holdings of many significant European galleries, archives, libraries, and museums, including Judaica Europeana, Bodleian Libraries, EuroPhoto, the Natural Europe Project, and Museo Galileo.

ARTFL Project (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)
Includes access to the FRANTEXT database containing nearly 2000 texts from the 12th through 20th centuries ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.

Roman de la Rose Digital Library
The goal of the Roman de la Rose Digital Library is to create a digital library of all extant manuscript copies of the Roman de la Rose, of which at least 270 are known to exist. This is a a joint project of the Sheridan Libraries at Johns Hopkins University and the Bibliothèque nationale de France.

Encyclopedie, ou, Dictionnaire Raisonne des Sciences, des Arts et des Metiers par une Societe des Gens de Lettres
Call Number: MAC Lower Level - Compact Shelving - Reference AE25 .E6 1985x

This is often referred to as "the Diderot." The copy in compact shelving is a facsimile. We have a copy of the original viewable by appointment in Special Collections.

El Caribe Digital Archive
Coverage from 1956 to 2021 for one of the Dominican Republic’s most influential and longest-running newspapers. Part of the Global Press Archive.
Access World News: Research Collection
International news source including content in French. Coverage dates vary, with selected resources going back into the 1970s. Most content dates back to the mid 2000s. Can limit to content in French.
Nexis Uni
Credible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers. Can limit results to sources in French and in French (Canadian) as well as other languages. Dates of coverage vary.

Kanopy
Video streaming service offering films from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films. Videos and clips can be embedded into Moodle.

Kanopy includes a large selection of classic French films, and many from Francophone Africa, Asia, and the Americas.