All Guides: Economics: Topic Overviews

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics by Steven N. Durlauf; Lawrence E. Blume
Ebook Available. The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics contains the full text of the 8 volume print 2nd edition as well as an archive of the 1987 text. In addition, the online Dictionary is a dynamic resource for economists which contains hyperlinked cross-references within articles, features carefully selected and maintained links to related sites, incorporates quarterly additions and updates, and offers search and browse facilities, both full text and advanced.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies
Call Number: HC15 .W675 2002
Ebook available
Cambridge Economic Histories
Ebook Available. Cambridge’s economics list is renowned for the breadth and quality of its publishing. Our book list is home to the work of some of the most important economists in the history of the discipline, most notably John Maynard Keynes, as well as the work of almost 30 Sveriges Riksbank Nobel Prize laureates, including Kenneth Arrow, Herbert Simon, Robert Solow and Joseph Stiglitz. This is complemented by a cluster of key journals such as Econometric Theory, Journal of Economic History and Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis.
Dictionary Of Business Research Methods, A by John Duignan
Publication Date: 2016
Ebook Available. Definitions of terms, approaches, and techniques in the area of business research methods. It covers research philosophies including research design and qualitative and quantitative methods, types of data and data collection techniques, and organizing and reporting research finding.
A Dictionary of Economics by Nigar Hashimzade; Gareth Myles; John Black
Publication Date: 2017
Ebook Available. Definitions of key economic terms. Covering all aspects of economics including economic theory and policy, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labour economics, public economics and public finance, monetary economics, and environmental economics.
History of World Trade Since 1450 by Macmillan Reference U. S. A. Staff
ISBN: 9780028660707
Ebook Available
The Changing Wealth of Nations by World Bank Staff
Publication Date: 2010
Ebook Available. This book is about development and measuring development progress.

Economic and Policy Reports.

Use these sources to search for reports on a variety of economic and policy related topics. The majority of them are nonprofit or government organizations with a particular area of focus. All of them publish articles based on quality research that are generally easier to digest than what is found in scholarly economic articles.

American Institutes for Research
Brookings Institution
Non-profit public policy organization.
Bruegel
Economic think tank.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Quantitative data and reports on regional, national, and international economics.
Center for Global Development
Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
Non-partisan analysis for the U.S. Congress.
FRED
Economic research from the Federal Reserve.
Hamilton Project
U.S. economic policy organization.
New York Times - The Upshot
Data driven reporting from the New York Times
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
International policy organization
Peterson Institute For International Economics
The Peterson Institute for International Economics (PIIE) is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research institution devoted to the rigorous and intellectually open study of international economic policy.
World Bank
The World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog. Broader access to these data allow policymakers and advocacy groups to make better-informed decisions and measure improvements more accurately. They are also valuable tools to support research by journalists, academia and others, broadening understanding of global issues.