Economics
Selected resources in Economics
Commonly Used Data Resources
- Minnesota Population Center Data ResourcesIncludes harmonized data from the Current Population Survey, American Population Survey, international censuses, American Time Use data, National Health Interview Survey, & more.
- World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new windowData source on the global economy containing statistical data for development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators which can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change and charted. Exporting options are available.
- Worldbank Microdata LibraryThe Microdata Library facilitates access to data collected through sample surveys of households, business establishments or other facilities.
- Census Bureau (replaces AmericanFactFinder)Portal for accessing U.S. Census data. Includes data from decennial summary files, American Community Survey, Economic Census, and more. Most census data collected in the past two years are not included.
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesCall Number: HA202Produced by the United States Bureau of the Census, this covers social, political and economic statistics, abstracted from original sources.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsStatistics on labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the US economy.
- LABORSTAUN database of international labor statistics.
- Statistical Abstract of Latin AmericaCall Number: HA755 .S93Updated periodically, this resource includes statistics taken from a variety of Latin American and international sources.
Data Repositories
- ICPSR This link opens in a new windowIndex of social science datasets with access to all sets. Most data sets require knowledge of a statistical software package--such as SPSS or STATA--in order to use. Includes searchable bibliography of research done relative to available data sets.
- Harvard DataverseOpen repository of research data with contributions from research institutions and individuals from around the world.
- DATA.GOVPortal for the U.S. federal government's open data.
- Data.WorldCrowdsourced database of datasets. Create a free in order to access.
Guides & Indexes
- Social Science Data GuideMacalester Library's guide for frequently used data sources in the social sciences.
- Registry Of Research Data RepositoriesIdentify and locate online repositories of research data.
Manage Your Data
- Data ModulesLink goes to the first in a series of modules for learning about managing your research data.
- Last Updated: Sep 25, 2024 2:08 PM
- URL: https://libguides.macalester.edu/econ
- Print Page