All Guides: Economics: Databases

Databases for Economics Scholarship

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of economic literature including economic theory and application. Includes journals, books, dissertations, collective volumes, and working papers in the field of economics.
NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of current working papers produced by researchers at the National Bureau of Economic Research.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides articles, industry reports, and more on subject areas related to business, with top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Covers journal information across 50 social sciences disciplines. Offers cited reference searching.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Includes business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Databases From Related Disciplines

These databases include some literature from the field of Economics but their primary focus is in another disciplinary field.

Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books, conference papers, government documents and research reports in the area of family studies.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research including the areas of sociology, history, political science, international relations, arts and humanities, business, and education.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles in political science related fields including law, public administration/policy, and international relations.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Google Scholar
Google's database of scholarly sources.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Credible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large collection of scholarly journals and books from all disciplines, with stronger coverage for the humanities and social sciences. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.
Left Index This link opens in a new window
Access to the literature on the left; emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship, both academic and not. Other topics include labor movements, environment, race, sociology, art, philosophy, history, education and globalization.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access to journals in the humanities and social sciences, covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.

Journal Archives

Economist Historical Archive, 1843–2015 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Full-text and full-image archive to the Economist.
Wall Street Journal Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Searchable archive of the Wall Street Journal back to the first issue of the newspaper with full page and article images. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. To access current issues of the Wall Street Journal, see the ProQuest Newspapers database.