This research guide is intended to provide students with electronic resources and online strategies for researching topics in philosophy.
Best Bets
PhilPapersThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive directory and bibliography of online academic philosophy. To access papers in most journals (except for some free articles or publications), Mac users will need to utilize library journals or ILL. Users can set up content alerts , providing a summary of new papers on topics of interest.
Philosopher's IndexThis link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Topics include ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysic logic, and philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThis link opens in a new windowOrganizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
Annee PhilologiqueThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive index to scholarly work in in the Greek and Roman areas of Classical Studies, as well as on ancient Greek and Latin linguistics and language. Concerns the time period from the second millennium B.C. to roughly 500-800 A.D. Includes coverage of research collections and conferences.
Open Commons of PhenomenologyThis link opens in a new windowThe Open Commons hosts relevant materials or research related to phenomenology. “Phenomenology” is defined broadly and inclusively as any work in philosophy or in other human sciences connected with the ideas of “canonical phenomenologists” (Edmund Husserl, Martin Heidegger, Max Scheler, Eugen Fink, Roman Ingarden, Maurice Merleau-Ponty, Jean-Paul Sartre, Jan Patočka, Emanuel Levinas, etc.) as well as their students or followers.
A digital preservation repository that provides access to millions of digitized materials from libraries around the world. For enhanced access to materials, log into HathiTrust using your Macalester email credentials.
View the full list of databases the Dewitt Wallace Library subscribes to and select subject "Philosophy" to filter.
The Journal of PhilosophyThe Journal of Philosophy is a monthly academic philosophy journal, founded in 1904 at Columbia University. Its stated mission is "To publish philosophical articles of current interest and encourage the interchange of ideas, especially the exploration of the borderline between philosophy and other disciplines."
BioethicsPeer reviewed articles on the ethical questions raised by current biomedical research and issues. Questions are considered on the basis of concrete ethical, legal, and policy problems, and in terms of fundamental concepts, principles and theories.
Journal of Applied PhilosophyJournal of Applied Philosophy provides a unique forum for philosophical research which seeks to make a constructive contribution to problems of practical concern. Open to the expression of diverse viewpoints, the journal brings critical analysis to these areas and to the identification, justification and discussion of values of universal appeal. Journal of Applied Philosophy covers a broad spectrum of issues in environment, medicine, science, policy, law, politics, economics and education.
