Russian Studies

• MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco) The primary database for literary and film scholarship.
• Historical Abstracts Index covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Provides access to journal articles in political science related fields including law, public administration/policy, and international relations.
• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Provides literature including journal articles and book chapters on linguistics and related language science fields. Covers all aspects of linguistics, from phonetics to semantics, and the various fields of linguistics (geographical, comparative, etc.).
• Academic Search Premier Interdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.

  • This link opens in a new window
• Nexis Uni Credible source for news, legal, and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national, and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
• Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text Covers film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
• Communication and Mass Media Complete Access to research in areas related to cultural studies, communication and mass media studies, rhetoric, speech, and digital, electronic and new media.

• MLA Handbook Plus This guide is a quick introduction to the Modern Language Association 9th edition citation style. Be sure to consult the MLA Handbook or the online MLA Style Center for detailed standards and procedures.

• MLA Handbook: Ninth Edition by The Modern Language Association of America

  ISBN: 9781603295628

  Publication Date: 2021-05-20

• Cyberleninka Russian language scholarly journal articles. All search and results are in Russian; no English language interface.

  • This link opens in a new window
• British Library's European Studies Blog Collection of Russian resources, including Prozhito, a growing collection of digitized diaries.

  • This link opens in a new window

• HathiTrust Digital Library A digital preservation repository that provides access to millions of digitized materials from libraries around the world. For enhanced access to materials, log into HathiTrust using your Macalester email credentials.

  • This link opens in a new window
• Directory of Open Access Journals Access to quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals covering a range of topics and languages.

  • This link opens in a new window

• Russia in Minnesota

  Macalester's Russian Studies Department compiled a great list of local opportunities, including the Museum of Russian Art, Russian Soul Cultural Center, Theatre Novi Most, and more!
  
  Use these links to think outside the box: you can intern or volunteer, attend cultural events, become involved in an organization, and more. Then take a break and eat some Russian food, perhaps nearby at Moscow on the Hill!
• Online Resources

  Another thorough list from Macalester's Russian Studies Department of internet based resources, from archives and government agencies to maps and news sources.