GEOG 261: World Urbanization
Research & Instruction Librarian
Research & Instruction Librarian
Welcome
Welcome to GEOG 261: World Urbanization Library Course Guide.
Use the links provided here for your research.
Best Bets
-
The World FactbookProduced by the CIA, each country's profile includes such information as demographics, political, economic, and geographic data.
-
One World - Nations OnlineFor each country there is a profile with facts and figures, about the country's geography, its flag, statistics, maps, images, and links to sources that will provide you with more information about a nation. Includes a CITEIS search option.
-
World Bank Countries & RegionsProvides country profiles, statistics, and general reports.
-
Library of Congress: Country StudiesEach Country Study includes information on the economic, political, and social system of a particular country. Also discussed are the people, their beliefs and values, and their interpersonal relationships. Covers 101 countries and regions.
-
Political Risk YearbookThis source is available via Business Source Premier. In the search box, type Political Risk Yearbook with the name of the country you're researching. Make sure to notice dates of reports!
See also: Geography Subject Guide for additional information and sources.
-
Academic Search Premier Interdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
-
Business Source Premier Provides articles, industry reports, and more on subject areas related to business, with top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. Use the Business Searching Interface to easily browse leading publications and locate company and industry profiles, country reports, and SWOT analyses.
-
Google Scholar Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.
-
JSTOR
Large collection of scholarly journals and books from all disciplines, with stronger coverage for the humanities and social sciences. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.
-
GEOBASE International index to the literature of geology, geography, urban geography, and ecology. Includes journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.
-
Nexis Uni
Credible source for news, legal, and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national, and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
-
Access World News: Research Collection
International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
WorldCat Search
If you need more help...
If you have questions about your research, please don't hesitate to reach out to either of us. We can help you:
- Save time getting started with your research
- Choose databases for discipline-focused research
- Learn more efficient searching methods
- Find background information
- Use the library’s collections as well as worldwide and web resources
- Organize/manage citations
- etc.
To make an appointment, reach out to a subject librarian specializing in your topic.