PSYC 350: Race in Developing Lives
A Library Resource Guide for PSYC 350: Race in Developing Lives, Spring 2024
Research & Instruction Librarian
Researching Historical Background & Context
Online Reference
Reference sources, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, are excellent starting points for researching broad topics. They provide background information and context, as well as specific vocabulary that could be applied to further deepen your research. Many contain links and suggestions for additional sources.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowAccess to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
- eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
Selected Resources
- Pew Research CenterRace & Ethnicity reports from Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowAccess to original reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- Historical Foundations of RaceFrom the Smithsonian's National Museum of African American History & Culture
- Our Changing Population: United StatesThe ages, races, and population density of the United States tell a story. Understand the shifts in demographic trends with these charts visualizing decades of population data.
- Code Switch Podcast (NPR)This podcast explores how race affects every part of society — from politics and pop culture to history, food and everything in between. It makes all of us part of the conversation — because we're all part of the story.
- National ArchivesThe National Archives website has articles, finding aids information on how to conduct research in their holdings. Additionally, digitized records are available online through the National Archives Catalog and in AAD that are useful for researching family history online.
- Immigrant Records at the National ArchivesAmong the billions of historical records housed at the National Archives throughout the country, researchers can find information relating to immigrants from the late 1700s through the early 2000s. The National Archives preserves and makes available documents created by Federal agencies in the course of their daily business.
- Library of Congress: Genealogy Research GuideCompiled by reference specialists in the Library of Congress Local History and Genealogy Section, these guides identify key print and online resources for pursuing the history of families and communities.
- U.S. GenWeb ProjectA comprehensive, referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online.
- United States Census: History/GeneaologyDecennial Census Records and links to other sources.
- U.S CensusAccess demographic, economic and population data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Vital Records Info: United StatesProvides information about where to obtain vital records (such as birth, death, marriage certificates, and divorce decrees) from each state, territory and county of the United States.
- Social Security Death Index Interactive SearchAncestry.com's interactive site. The Social Security Administration Death Master File contains information on millions of deceased individuals with United States social security numbers whose deaths were reported to the Social Security Administration. Full access to the records requires a paid subscription to Ancestry.com.
- Find a GraveThe world's largest gravesite collection, with over 190 million memorials created by the community since 1995.
Historical Newspapers
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowEarly American Newspapers from 1690-1922 and African American Newspapers from 1827-1998.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Approximately 270 newspapers from most US states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
- Black Life in America This link opens in a new windowNews coverage of the African American experience from 1704-1975. Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 Black publications.
- Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s This link opens in a new windowCollection of newspapers promoting and opposing white supremacy, published mainly in the 1920s. Includes local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the US, as well as key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities.
- New York Times Archive This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text of the New York Times from the first issue in 1851 to 4 years ago. Includes full page and article images. Most recent years of the Times can be searched in US Newsstream or New York Times - Digital Microfilm.
- Wall Street Journal Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowSearchable archive of the Wall Street Journal back to the first issue of the newspaper with full page and article images. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. To access current issues of the Wall Street Journal, see the ProQuest Newspapers database.
Current Newspapers
- Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new windowInternational, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
- US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowCredible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
- MN Spokesman-RecorderThe Minnesota Spokesman-Recorder (MSR) enjoys a living legacy as the oldest Black-owned newspaper in the state of Minnesota and one of the longest-standing, family-owned newspapers in the country.
- The Somali AmericanSomali American Media operates a print Newspaper that circulate 10,000 units/month.
- Hmong TimesThe Hmong Times Newspaper is a quality publication for the Hmong Community. Providing valuable information and tools to promote togetherness. The mission of the Hmong Times is to publish a quality newspaper for the Hmong Community.
- The Circle: Native American News & ArtsThe Circle is dedicated to presenting news from a Native American perspective, while granting an equal opportunity to community voices.
- Sahan JournalA nonprofit newsroom dedicated to telling stories about Minnesota’s immigrants and communities of color.