Ask a question!

chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Linking to e-resources: Getting Started

Using e-resources in teaching

Resources offered by the library can be used for teaching purposes, for example, by providing links to materials via Moodle. In some cases, the storing of the material in PDF or another format is prohibited in the terms and conditions of the resource. 

Avoid copying the URL directly from the address bar of the browser. These URLs often contain session-specific settings and they can stop working after a while. Instead, use permanent/persistent links to allow students to use the resource via remote access. Persistent links are permanent or stable links to an electronic article or resource from a library database that will allow a user to access the article at a later time. When linking to resources in library databases, it is best to use the persistent or durable links provided by the database because merely copying the URL will not work, as those contain session information which changes per user. The persistent link will also have our proxy information appended to it, which means that the link will work for both on and off-campus users.

Persistent links are available through most library databases.  See additional instructions for accessing them from a number of our resources below:

How to link an e-resource to Moodle

  1. Log in to Moodle. Open the course and turn editing on.
  2. Click Add an activity or resource. Choose URL and Add.
  3. Type a name for the resource, e.g. source.
    E.g. Author. Year. Title. [Article in e-journal]. Journal title. Volume (Issue), pages. [Reference date 10.8.2016]. Available in the Name of the database database. Registration required.
  4. Add the URL to External URL box.
  5. Choose New window under Appearance.
  6. Save.

Linking e-books

  1. Locate the e-book you want to link to in ProQuest Ebook Central.
  2. Open the e-book by clicking the title. You'll get to the detailed record of the book.
  3. Click 'Share Link to Book' on the left. The permanent address will be displayed on the top of the screen.
  4. Copy the url.

 

  1. Search the e-book you want to link to on EBSCO.
  2. Open the e-book by clicking the title. You'll get to the detailed record of the book.
  3. Click the Permalink icon on the menu right. The permanent address will be displayed on the top of the screen.
  4. Copy the url.

  1. Locate the e-book you want to link on the A&AePortal platform.
  2. Open the e-book by clicking the title. You'll get to the detailed record of the book.
  3. Click 'Share this page' on the right side of the page. The Stable URL will be displayed in the center of the screen.
  4. Copy the url.

 

Linking articles and e-journals

  1. Search for the article you want to link to.
  2. Click on the title of the article.
  3. You'll find the 'Get Link' icon on the menu right. Click on it. The url of the article will appear on the top of the display.
  4. Highlight and copy the url.

 

Linking an article:

  1. Search the article you want to link to.
  2. Click on the title of the article. The full text of the article opens either in html or pdf format.
  3. You'll find the Permalink icon on the menu right. Click on it. The url of the article will appear on the top of the display.
  4. Highlight and copy the url.

 

Linking a journal:

  1. Search the journal you want to link to. Use Publications list on the top menu.
  2. Click on the title of the journal. You'll get to the publication details.
  3. Choose Share on the right. Click on the url under Use Permalink. Highlight and copy the url.

 

 

Linking an issue:

  1. Search the journal you want to link to. Use Publications list on the top menu.
  2. Click on the title of the journal. You'll get to the publication details.
  3. You'll find all issues of the journal on the right. Open all issues by clicking + icon. Choose the issue you want to link to by clicking on it. The first articles will appear.
  4. Choose Share on the right. Click on the url under Use Permalink. Highlight and copy the url.

 

 

 

  1. Search the article you want to link to.
  2. Locate the article's digital object identifier near the title, that is its DOI number which provides a persistent link to the article. Copy the URL. E.g. https://doi.org/10.1177/00016993211028885
  3. Add the OpenAthens prefix to the front of the copied url https://go.openathens.net/redirector/macalester.edu?url=
  4. Link will open article's abstract. The page also includes article's pdf version.

Example: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/macalester.edu?url=https://doi.org/10.1177/00016993211028885

Linking an e-resource

If you want to create a link to a particular database or e-resource, you can copy the link from the A-Z database list. Don't try to search for the e-resource with Google - there is a fixed url address available for the users on the A-Z database list.

  1. Search the e-resource on the A-Z database list.
  2. Right click the title of the e-resource and copy the link address.
  3. Paste the link address in Moodle or share the e-resource link directly with your students.
  4. Link works also through remote access.

Do you need help with linking?

If you need further assistance with linking to e-resources, please send an email to the E-Resources Librarian.

User rights

The user rights of e-resources are specified in licence agreements. Normally, you may only use e-resources for the purposes of education, teaching, research and private study. Any commercial use is strictly prohibited.