Theater and Dance
A guide to print and online resources available through the DeWitt Wallace Library for drama, theater, dance, and the performing arts in general.
Where to Look: Film/Audiovisual Material
-
Dance Online: Dance in Video
Online videos of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. The collection covers: ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
-
Films on DemandStreaming video service featuring many dance and theatre productions, documentaries, and instructional content. When browsing their subjects, dance is categorized with music, and theatre is categorized with English. Searches for "performing arts" will find a broad set of content.
-
OntheBoards.tv This link opens in a new windowFilmed works of top caliber contemporary dance, theater, and music performances. Collaboratively edited with the artists.
-
KanopyVideo streaming service offering films from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films. Videos and clips can be embedded into Moodle.
-
Jacob's Pillow Dance InteractiveA growing, diverse, digital library of videos and essays. Includes video playlists such as Male-Female Duets, Directing from Offstage, and Black History Month and essays around themes such as Dance in the African Diaspora and Women in Dance.
-
Music & Performing Arts OnlineAudio and video from hundreds of thousands of artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles.
Where to Look: Images
-
Digital Public Library of AmericaDPLA materials come from America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of these are freely available and include; photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, etc.
-
College Art Association: Image Sources and Rights Clearance AgenciesScroll down for a listing of reputable sources of free images from libraries and museums, including many public-domain and open-access images.
-
Shakespeare Digital Image CollectionOffers online access to over 100,000 images from the Folger Shakespeare Library, including books, theater memorabilia, manuscripts, and art.
-
Photography & The American StageBiographical collection of Broadway photographers and performers.
-
University of Washington Sayre Digital CollectionThe Sayre Collection consists of more than 24,000 photographs of theatrical and vaudeville performers, musicians, and entertainers who played in Seattle between about 1900 and 1955 (some of the materials date back to the 1870s).