All Guides: Theater and Dance: Costume & Fashion

Good Places to Start

Here are some online resources that may provide you with inspiration or act as a starting point for your research.

Clothing & Dress - Credo Topic Page
Compilation of hyperlinked articles, images, videos, and definitions to help you start your research.
Subject Guides - Oxford Art Online
Curated introductory summaries of different artistic movements, offering images and sources for further research.
Timelines of World Art - Oxford Art Online
Review significant moments in art history from all over the globe.

Vintage Sewing Patterns Wikia
A free library of sewing patterns at least 25 years old.
Image Collections Catalog - VADS
A wide variety of image collections hosted by the Visual Arts Data Service.
The Illustrated London News
Online Journal access,1874-1918.

Artstor

Note: Artstor has moved to the JSTOR platform. View the Artstor on JTSOR video playlist for tutorials on the new site.

Library of high quality digital images of artistic photographs and artwork from museums and collections worldwide.

Europeana Fashion Collection
"Explore fashion - historical clothing and accessories, contemporary designs, catwalk photographs, drawings, sketches, plates, catalogues and videos - from museums and archives across Europe."
Fashion and Costume Sources from DPLA
Search for items tagged as "fashion" or "costume" in the Digital Public Library of America
Theatre & Performance Collection from the Victoria and Albert Museum
Online guide and materials supporting the V&A's collection documenting performing arts in the United Kingdom.
Billy Rose Theatre Division, NYPL for the Performing Arts
Digital collections of the Billy Rose Theatre Division and other resources from the New York Public Library.