SOCI/INTL280: Indigenous People's Movements in Global Context
Research & Instruction Librarian
Research & Instruction Librarian
Using this Guide
Welcome to SOCI/INTL 280: Indigenous Peoples' Movements in Global Context Library Course Guide.
Use the links to resources below to help you with your research.
Indigenous Peoples' Subject-Specific Resources
- The Indigenous World (IWGIA)The Indigenous World is the unique result of a collaborative effort between Indigenous and non-indigenous activists and scholars who voluntarily document and report on the situation of Indigenous Peoples’ rights. This yearly overview serves to document and report on the developments Indigenous Peoples have experienced throughout 2023.
The 71 national, regional and international reports in this edition give a comprehensive update on the current state of Indigenous Peoples' rights worldwide. - The Indigenous Peoples' Guide to the United NationsA publication of The Implementation Project (TIP), a joint initiative of the University of Colorado School of Law and the Native American Rights Fund (NARF) dedicated to advancing education and advocacy regarding the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.
- Indigenous Peoples (United Nations)From United Nations. Useful information and links regarding Indigenous Peoples.
- DoCIPDocip makes available to its users and visitors an online database that contains thousands of documents on indigenous issues
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of more than 2,600 law-related periodicals. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
- Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & LawFrom HeinOnline: A collection with more than 2.3 million total pages dedicated to indigenous American life and law, including treaties, federal statutes, federal case law, tribal codecs, constitutions, and more.
- Women and Social Movements This link opens in a new windowA resource for scholars of U.S. Women's history. The collection currently includes 123 document projects and archives with 5,100 documents and more than 170,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,700 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
- Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new windowFull-text legal materials by and about indigenous peoples of the United States, including treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital preservation repository that provides access to millions of digitized materials from libraries around the world. For enhanced access to materials, log into HathiTrust using your Macalester email credentials.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Provides paragraph-level searching of ethnographic and other documents describing cultural and social life compiled into ethnic and culture profiles. Includes searching and browsing using detailed classification systems.
Topic Overviews/Background Info Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
- eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowResource of reference materials such as dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Provides database-wide searching, subject searching across sources, and individual title searching.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowAccess to original reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- Amnesty InternationalAmnesty International is a global movement of millions of people demanding human rights for all people – no matter who they are or where they are. It is the world’s oldest and largest grassroots human rights organization.
Article and Newspaper Databases (Broader Context)
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books, conference papers, government documents and research reports in the area of family studies.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare and community development.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowCovers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research including the areas of sociology, history, political science, international relations, arts and humanities, business, and education.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large collection of scholarly journals and books from all disciplines, with stronger coverage for the humanities and social sciences. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowAccess to journals in the humanities and social sciences, covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.
- BASE This link opens in a new window
A search engine for academic web resources - includes journals, institutional repositories, digital collections etc. Many open access resources.
- Social Science Open Access Repository This link opens in a new windowDatabase of open access journal articles and working papers in the social sciences. Useful for finding scholarship written and published outside of the U.S. Use the Disciplines feature to limit your search to a specific subject area.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Citations to international alternative, radical, and left periodicals, journals, newspapers, and magazine articles. Coverage: 1991-present.
- Left Index This link opens in a new windowAccess to the literature on the left; emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship, both academic and not. Other topics include labor movements, environment, race, sociology, art, philosophy, history, education and globalization.
- Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Credible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
- US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCurrent U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
- New York Times Archive This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text of the New York Times from the first issue in 1851 to 4 years ago. Includes full page and article images. Most recent years of the Times can be searched in US Newsstream or New York Times - Digital Microfilm.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Credible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of more than 2,600 law-related periodicals. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
WorldCat Search
Citation Management Tools
Research Consultations
If you have questions about your research, please don't hesitate to reach out to either of us. We can help you:
-
Save time getting started with your research
-
Choose databases for discipline-focused research
-
Learn more efficient searching methods
-
Find background information
-
Use the library’s collections as well as worldwide and web resources
-
Organize/manage citations