Physics and Astronomy
Research & Instruction Librarian
Getting Started with Physics & Astronomy Research
This guide is intended to help you identify where to search for literature and data, develop your search strategy, and manage and cite sources. For additional research support, reach out to your subject librarian.
When you start exploring physics and astronomy research, it can be helpful to take a few of these steps:
- Write down key words, phrases, names, and dates that might relate to your topic.
- Consider different ways of talking about things, like mission identifiers, source numbers, and planet surveys. Resources like SIMBAD can help you to find synonymous identifiers for a more robust search.
- Often you have to think more broadly than your specific report, trial study, or other reference work in order to find relevant sources—where might you find related works?
Best Bets
Depending on your research topic, these places can be a good starting point for your research.
If you're not finding what you're looking for, you can check out the list of all databases at Mac or get in touch with a Research & Instruction Librarian for support.
-
ADS (Astrophysics Data System)Digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.
-
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar searches for scholarly literature on the web. It's a good starting place, but not comprehensive enough to be the only place to do in-depth research. For more precise searching and more content, you should also use library-subscribed databases such as Web of Science.
-
PROLA (Physical Review Online Archive) & Physical Review Online JournalsPROLA provides index and electronic full-text access to all American Physical Society (APS journals)
-
AIP Publishing This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts from physics, astronomy, and engineering journals and conference proceedings from the American Institute of Physics. Allows browsing and searching within individual journals.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
Local Resources and Organizations
A handful of links to local resources and organizations here in the Twin Cities to help kick-start your research process.
-
Macalester Physics Student-Faculty ResearchThe Department of Physics and Astronomy believes independent research that complements the traditional major courses is an important part of the undergraduate physics major experience. Student-faculty research often takes place full time during the summer months where the student is financially supported by internal or external grants.
-
Fine Theoretical Physics InstituteThe William I. Fine Theoretical Physics Institute (FTPI) was established in 1987 as part of the School of Physics and Astronomy, with the goal of conducting research in theoretical physics at a world-class level. The most important function of FTPI is to produce significant, exciting and sound theoretical physics that will have an impact on physics as a whole. To this end the Institute provides a meeting place for theorists from around the globe to exchange and develop ideas. FTPI sponsors several workshops annually and runs ongoing programs, such as the visiting short- and long-term scholar program. Through these and other outreach programs, the Institute serves to advance theoretical physics and to further develop its links to other science and engineering research disciplines, industrial research initiatives, and other academic sectors.