Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science
Research & Instruction Librarian
Getting Started with Math, Stats, and Computer Science
At Macalester, Math, Statistics, Computer Science & Data Science curriculums and research are integrated—connecting within and beyond fields. Many of the resources in this guide can apply to all of these fields, but it can also be helpful to understand approaches to research that are particular to each of these areas.
When using this research guide, keep in mind that you can tab over to other research areas that are not necessarily particular to your field, as it's all connected.
And, when in doubt, always contact your research librarian or instructor!
Databases
These databases are a good starting place for searching literature in Mathematics. For more options, see all MSCS databases.
-
MathSciNetIndex to mathematical journals and the full text of journals published by the American Mathematical Association.
-
arXiv
Open Access pre-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics
-
Web of Science
Note: The library has begun a subscription to Scopus as a replacement for our Web of Science subscription. Access to Web of Science will end on December 31, 2025.
Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
-
All MSCS DatabasesAll databases that contain resources relevant to Math, Stats, and Computer Sciences. This includes general databases, like Google Scholar and Academic Search Premier.
These databases are a good starting place for searching literature in Statistics. For more options, see all MSCS databases.
-
arXiv
Open Access pre-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics
-
Web of Science
Note: The library has begun a subscription to Scopus as a replacement for our Web of Science subscription. Access to Web of Science will end on December 31, 2025.
Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
-
All MSCS DatabasesAll databases that contain resources relevant to Math, Stats, and Computer Sciences. This includes general databases, like Google Scholar and Academic Search Premier.
These databases are a good starting place for searching literature in Computer Science. For more options, see all MSCS databases.
-
ACM Digital LibraryArticles, reviews, etc, published in the Association for Computing Machinery's (ACM) periodicals and proceedings. Information on ACM periodicals and works published by affiliated organizations, as well as Tables of Contents for ACM Newsletters published since 1985, available.
-
arXiv
Open Access pre-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics
-
Web of Science
Note: The library has begun a subscription to Scopus as a replacement for our Web of Science subscription. Access to Web of Science will end on December 31, 2025.
Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
-
All MSCS DatabasesAll databases that contain resources relevant to Math, Stats, and Computer Sciences. This includes general databases, like Google Scholar and Academic Search Premier.
These databases are a good starting place for searching literature in Data Science. For more options, see all MSCS databases.
-
arXiv
Open Access pre-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics
-
Web of Science
Note: The library has begun a subscription to Scopus as a replacement for our Web of Science subscription. Access to Web of Science will end on December 31, 2025.
Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
-
ACM Digital LibraryArticles, reviews, etc, published in the Association for Computing Machinery's (ACM) periodicals and proceedings. Information on ACM periodicals and works published by affiliated organizations, as well as Tables of Contents for ACM Newsletters published since 1985, available.
-
All MSCS DatabasesAll databases that contain resources relevant to Math, Stats, and Computer Sciences. This includes general databases, like Google Scholar and Academic Search Premier.
Schedule a Meeting with a Librarian
Have questions about the research process? Don't struggle, reach out to a librarian for help! Students interested in research support can book a meeting with a librarian to:
-
Narrow down research topic ideas
-
Find background information
-
Save time getting started with your research
-
Use the library’s collections as well as worldwide and web resources
-
Choose databases for discipline-focused research
-
Learn more efficient searching method
To make an appointment, reach out to a subject librarian specializing in your topic.