Linguistics
Selected resources for Linguistics
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
-
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
by
Comprising more than one million words, the 2nd edition of the International Encyclopedia of Linguistics encompasses the full range of the contemporary field of linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, and philosophical linguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within branches of linguistics and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines. Areas of intersection with the social and behavioral sciences-ethnolinguistics, sociolinguistics, psycholinguistics, and behavioral linguistics-receive major coverage, as does interdisciplinary work in language and literature, mathematical linguistics, computational linguistics, and applied linguistics (particularly as it is concerned with language education). The International Encyclopedia of Linguistics is available in four print volumes and as an e-reference edition at www.oxford-linguistics.com. Longer entries in the International Encyclopedia of Linguistics, ranging up to four thousand words, survey the major fields of study-for example, anthropological linguistics, history of linguistics, semantics, and phonetics. Shorter entries treat specific topics within these fields, such as code switching, sound symbolism, and syntactic features. Other short entries define and discuss technical terms used within the various subfields or provide sketches of the careers of important scholars in the history of linguistics, such as Leonard Bloomfield, Roman Jakobson, and Edward Sapir. Line drawings, maps, tables, and diagrams are generously employed to illustrate the text of many articles. A major emphasis of the work is its extensive coverage of languages and language families. From those as familiar as English, Japanese, and the Romance languages to Hittite, Yoruba, and Nahuatl, languages from all corners of the world receive treatment. Languages that are the subject of independent entries are analyzed in terms of their phonology, grammatical features, syntax, and writing systems. Language lists attached to each article on a language group or family enumerate all languages, extinct or still spoken, within that group and provide detailed information on the number of known speakers, geographical range, and degree of intelligibility with other languages in the group. In this way, virtually every known language receives coverage. For ease of reference and to aid research, the articles are alphabetically arranged, each signed by the contributor, supported by up-to-date bibliographies, and readily accessible via a system of cross-references and a detailed index and synoptic outline. Authoritative, comprehensive, and innovative, the 2nd edition of the International Encyclopedia of Linguistics will be an indispensable addition to personal, public, academic, and research libraries and will introduce a new generation of readers to the complexities and concerns of this field of study.
ISBN: 9780195139778Publication Date: 2003 -
Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning
by
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning is an authoritative handbook dealing with all aspects of this increasingly important field of study. It has been produced specifically for language teaching professionals, but can also be used as a reference work for academic studies at postgraduate level. It offers a comprehensive range of articles on contemporary language teaching and its history. Themes covered include: methods and materials assessment and testing contexts and concepts influential figures related disciplines, such as psychology, anthropology and sociolinguistics. It covers the teaching of languages, in particular Japanese, Chinese and Arabic, as well as English, French, German and Spanish. There arenbsp;thirty-five overview articles dealing with issues such as communicative language teaching, early language learning, teacher education and syllabus and curriculum design. A further 160 entries focus on topics such as bilingualism, language laboratories and study abroad. Numerous shorter items look at language and cultural institutions, professional associations and acronyms. Multiple cross-references enable the user to browse from one entry to another, and there are suggestions for further reading. Written by an international team of specialists, the Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning is an invaluable resource and reference manual for anyone with a professional or academic interest in the subject.
ISBN: 9780203219300Publication Date: 2002 -
Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics
by
This is the ninth in the acclaimed series of spinoff volumes based on the outstanding Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics. It comprises 285 articles of which 80 are short biographical entries. 50 of the biographies and 42 other articles are entirely new, while the remaining entries are suitably revised and updated from ELL. This work provides uniquely comprehensive and authoritative information on all aspects of sociolinguistics.
ISBN: 9780080502700Publication Date: 2001 -
Encyclopedia of Semiotics
by
Three hundred entries by leading scholars in a variety of fields--from anthropology and literary theory to linguistics and philosophy--survey the study of signs and symbols in human culture in this new work. The articles cover key concepts, theories, theorists, schools, and issues in communications, cognition, and cultural theory. From introductions to Barthes and Bakhtin to analyses of gossip and myth, this is a valuable reference for students and scholars.
ISBN: 9780195120905Publication Date: 1998
-
Credo Reference
Access to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
-
eBooks (Gale)Search across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
-
Oxford Reference OnlineResource of reference materials such as dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Provides database-wide searching, subject searching across sources, and individual title searching.