All Guides: Linguistics: Databases

Databases for Linguistics Scholarship

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides literature including journal articles and book chapters on linguistics and related language science fields. Covers all aspects of linguistics, from phonetics to semantics, and the various fields of linguistics (geographical, comparative, etc.).
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Covers journal information across 50 social sciences disciplines. Offers cited reference searching.
MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
The primary database for literary and film scholarship.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large collection of scholarly journals and books from all disciplines, with stronger coverage for the humanities and social sciences. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access to journals in the humanities and social sciences, covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to research in areas related to cultural studies, communication and mass media studies, rhetoric, speech, and digital, electronic and new media.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals covering a range of topics and languages.
BASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A search engine for academic web resources - includes journals, institutional repositories, digital collections etc. Many open access resources.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
Social Science Open Access Repository This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of open access journal articles and working papers in the social sciences. Useful for finding scholarship written and published outside of the U.S. Use the Disciplines feature to limit your search to a specific subject area.

Databases From Related Disciplines

These databases include some literature from the field of linguistics but their primary focus is in another disciplinary field.

Anthropological Literature This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index for the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Includes articles, essays, reports, commentaries, and obituaries.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Provides research articles on anthropology, archaeology, and biological, cultural and linguistic anthropology. Individual account setup within allows personalization options such as saved searches and email alerts.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to research in areas related to cultural studies, communication and mass media studies, rhetoric, speech, and digital, electronic and new media.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Access to information about international literature in psychology and related disciplines including psychiatry, education, nursing, pharmacology, law and social work. Indexes journals, books, conference papers, dissertations and technical reports.