All Guides: INTL 113: Introduction to International Studies: Getting Started

Welcome

This course guide is intended to provide links to information resources for researching topics in Intro to International Studies.

Topic Overviews/Background

Online Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Broad (Hot) Topics

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Resource of reference materials such as dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Provides database-wide searching, subject searching across sources, and individual title searching.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Access to original reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions, materials, and supporting articles for further thought and study.

Databases

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides access to journal articles in political science related fields including law, public administration/policy, and international relations.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Access to research in areas related to cultural studies, communication and mass media studies, rhetoric, speech, and digital, electronic and new media.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Index of scholarly journals, books, and dissertations covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from before European contact to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Index covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Documents and articles devoted to research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies.

Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Credible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
PressReader Newspapers This link opens in a new window Access to thousands of newspapers from over 100 countries and 60 languages. Includes 90 days of back issues and translation in 16 languages. MUST SIGN UP for an account while on campus. After signing in, click on PressReader icon, then access. For additional tips, see mobile or computer tabs on this guide: https://proquest.libguides.com/pressreader/mobile

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Credible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of more than 2,600 law-related periodicals. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window Indexes Western language literature including books, chapters from books, periodical articles and pamphlets on Asian studies.
African Journals Online (AJOL) This link opens in a new window The world’s largest online library of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) This link opens in a new window Index to scholarly journals, books, and conference papers in the social sciences and humanities covering the field of Latin American studies.
Social Science Open Access Repository This link opens in a new window Database of open access journal articles and working papers in the social sciences. Useful for finding scholarship written and published outside of the U.S. Use the Disciplines feature to limit your search to a specific subject area.
- This link opens in a new window

Organizations & Think Tanks

Harvard Kennedy School Think Tank Search
A Google Custom Search of more than 1200 think tanks and research centers.
UNESCO
Council On Foreign Relations - Special Reports
Center for Strategic and International Studies
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
USAID

WorldCat Search

Organize Your Sources: Zotero

To use Zotero most efficiently, you need to create a free Zotero account and install two programs on your computer: 1) The Zotero application and 2) the Zotero browser connector. With a Zotero account, you can access your Zotero library from other computers and share items using the Groups feature.

Installation Steps

1. Download the Zotero application to your computer: first, open the Zotero download page, then select your operating system (Windows or Mac) and click the blue download button. Next, open the installation file you just downloaded (.dmg file for Mac OS and .exe for Windows OS) and follow the prompts.

2. Download the Zotero browser connector: return to the Zotero download page and select the browser you will be using. Then, click the install connector button and follow the prompts.

3. Create a free Zotero account: from the Zotero download page or Zotero.org, click Log-In. Next, click Register for a free account, and then follow the prompts.

In order to share Zotero libraries with other students and access your library from another computer connected to the internet, you'll need to use the syncing feature. Zotero automatically saves items from your Zotero library to your computer and only your computer. Once you've enabled synching, items, notes, links and tags in your Zotero library on your own computer are available online when you login to your Zotero account from another computer.

To enable syncing, you will need to link your Zotero account with the Zotero application on your computer:

From the Zotero application on your computer, open preferences ( Many of Zotero's features can be customized via the Zotero preferences window. Open the preferences by clicking Edit → Preferences/Settings” (Windows/Linux) or “Zotero → Preferences/Settings (Mac)
Click Sync and enter your username and password for your Zotero account

You can find more information on synching in the Zotero Help Documentation on Synching

Adding items to Zotero from a library database

There are two ways to export a citation directly from a library database:

Option 1: Add using the Zotero browser connector by clicking the browser extension icon

Option 2: Add using the database's export function, which may appear in the database as the following, depending on the database: Export, Send To, or Cite; when prompted to select file format, select RIS.

Adding in-text citations to your paper in Word