GERM 194-F1: Forever Young: The Vampire Comes of Age
Research & Instruction Librarian
Getting started with research in German Studies
German Studies at Macalester is an inherently interdisciplinary department, and projects often take a variety of approaches. You may want to start by looking for book-length treatments or shorter subject encyclopedia entries for topic overviews and bibliographies of important works as a way to get started.
Pro Tip: Reading the introduction and the conclusion of a book, along with using the table of contents and the index can go a long way toward helping you find the sections of most interest. You don't have to read every word! (Unless you want to.)
-
Macalester WorldCatOnline catalog of materials owned by the library at Macalester College and libraries worldwide. Search for books, journal titles, videos, DVDs, articles, and much more. Macalester Worldcat will indicate which library (including Macalester) owns a particular item. Use the Interlibrary Loan button to ask for items owned by other libraries.
-
Credo ReferenceAccess to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration. Titles indexed include: The Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters; The Werewolf Book: The Encyclopedia of Shape-Shifting Beings; The Vampire Almanac: The Complete History; and Encyclopedia of Time: Science, Philosophy, Theology, & Culture.
-
Oxford Reference OnlineResource of reference materials such as dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Provides database-wide searching, subject searching across sources, and individual title searching. Titles indexed include A Dictionary of English Folklore; The Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature; and The Oxford Companion to World Mythology.
-
eBooks (Gale)Search across subject-specific reference encyclopedias including the International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers; VideoHound's Golden Movie Retriever; St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture; Supernatural Literature; Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television; and Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender.
-
Web of Science
Note: The library has begun a subscription to Scopus as a replacement for our Web of Science subscription. Access to Web of Science will end on December 31, 2025.
Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
-
Google Scholar
Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.
-
Academic Search PremierInterdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
-
MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco)
The primary database for literary and film scholarship.
-
Literary Sources (Gale)Gale Literary Sources allows users to search across several literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
-
Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsProvides literature including journal articles and book chapters on linguistics and related language science fields. Covers all aspects of linguistics, from phonetics to semantics, and the various fields of linguistics (geographical, comparative, etc.).
-
Art Full Text
The main database for research in art and art history. Includes both popular and academic titles.
-
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Index of international publications on music and other performance arts, such as dance. Includes a variety of publication types including journal articles, ethnographic recordings, and reviews. Relevant for research on performance studies, education, literature, and more.
-
Communication and Mass Media CompleteAccess to research in areas related to cultural studies, communication and mass media studies, rhetoric, speech, and digital, electronic and new media.
-
Film & Television Literature Index with Full TextCovers film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
-
America: History and Life
Index of scholarly journals, books, and dissertations covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from before European contact to the present.
-
Historical Abstracts
Index covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides access to journal articles in political science related fields including law, public administration/policy, and international relations.
-
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
-
Anthropological LiteratureComprehensive index for the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Includes articles, essays, reports, commentaries, and obituaries.
-
AnthroSourceProvides research articles on anthropology, archaeology, and biological, cultural and linguistic anthropology. Individual account setup within allows personalization options such as saved searches and email alerts.
Popular Books and eBooks
Scholarly Books and eBooks
International Archives & Special Collections
-
Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek The DDB aims "to bring together and network digital content from all of Germany’s cultural and scientific institutions." Feeds into Europeana.
-
Europeana This site allows you to search across the digital archives and holdings of many significant European galleries, archives, libraries, and museums, including Judaica Europeana, Bodleian Libraries, EuroPhoto, the Natural Europe Project, and Museo Galileo.
-
Federal Archives (Germany) Official archives of Germany; database of documents, media, maps.
-
Projekt Gutenberg - DE Public domain texts
-
Filmportal.de Open resource for German film and media studies in both German and English (abridged).
Saint Paul Public Library
St. Paul Public Library has more than 42,000 ebooks and 300 audiobooks that you can check out online, including an extensive fiction collection.
As a Macalester College student, you can use the college's address to sign up for an E-card to allow you to use online resources from the St. Paul Public Library. Once you've registered, you can borrow and download ebooks and audiobooks to view on an e-reader, computer, or mobile device.