All Guides: GEOG 320: Asian Cities: Getting Started

Scholarship

GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
International index to the literature of geology, geography, urban geography, and ecology. Includes journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Indexes Western language literature including books, chapters from books, periodical articles and pamphlets on Asian studies.
Social Science Open Access Repository This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of open access journal articles and working papers in the social sciences. Useful for finding scholarship written and published outside of the U.S. Use the Disciplines feature to limit your search to a specific subject area.
BASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A search engine for academic web resources - includes journals, institutional repositories, digital collections etc. Many open access resources.

Interdisciplinary Databases:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large collection of scholarly journals and books from all disciplines, with stronger coverage for the humanities and social sciences. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.

Also, consider checking out other library Subject/Research Guides for additional resources!

WorldCat Search

Primary Sources & Data

Primary sources can be found in many different places, most commonly in libraries, archives, museums, and in the case of digitized primary sources, online databases. A primary source is a first-hand or contemporary account of an event or topic.
Examples of Primary Sources

letters
diaries
minutes
photographs
artifacts
interviews
sound and video recordings
oral histories
newspaper articles
journal articles
research studies
memoirs
autobiographies

Primary sources may be transformed from their original format into a newer one, such as when materials are published or digitized, but the contents are still primary. There are many primary sources available online today, but many more are still available in their original format, in archives, museums, libraries, historical sites, and elsewhere.

Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Credible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
PressReader Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of newspapers from over 100 countries and 60 languages. Includes 90 days of back issues and translation in 16 languages. MUST SIGN UP for an account while on campus. After signing in, click on PressReader icon, then access. For additional tips, see mobile or computer tabs on this guide: https://proquest.libguides.com/pressreader/mobile

Social Science Data
by Talia Nadir Last Updated Feb 8, 2024 50 views this year

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Fulltext of the Encyclopaedia with links to Internet resources.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Resource of reference materials such as dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Provides database-wide searching, subject searching across sources, and individual title searching.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Access to original reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

Cities of the World by Stanley D. Brunn (Editor); Jessica K. Graybill (Editor); Maureen Hays-Mitchell (Editor); Donald J. Zeigler (Editor)
Call Number: HT151 .C569 2012 Mac Stacks
ISBN: 9781442249165
Publication Date: 2016
Offers readers a comprehensive set of tools for understanding the urban landscape, and, by extension, the world's politics, cultures, and economies.
Cities of the World
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780787639129
Publication Date: 2002-08-01
Some cities included are: Oran, Algeria Nassau, (The) Bahamas Brazzaville, Congo Caracas, Venezuela Santiago, Chile Cape Town, South Africa Paris, FranceAnd moreProfiles are based on U.S. State Department Post Reports. Photos and maps help bring the cities alive.New to this 6th edition are more pictures and updated entries.

GEOG 320: Asian Cities

Research & Instruction Librarian

Library Resources

Scholarship

WorldCat Search

Primary Sources & Data

Topic Overviews/Reference