GEOG/ENVI 258: Environmental Hazards
Research & Instruction Librarian
Research & Instruction Librarian
GEOG/ENVI 258: Environmental Hazards
Welcome to GEOG/ENVI 258: Environmental Hazards Library Course Guide.
This Guide provides links to information resources for your research projects.
Selected Online Resources: Best Bets
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large collection of scholarly journals and books from all disciplines, with stronger coverage for the humanities and social sciences. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowResearch database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling and beyond.
- GEOBASE This link opens in a new windowInternational index to the literature of geology, geography, urban geography, and ecology. Includes journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.
- Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Credible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
- US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCurrent U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
- eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowResource of reference materials such as dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Provides database-wide searching, subject searching across sources, and individual title searching.
Searching for Books (and more)
Books can offer a great introduction to a topic; they provide more in-depth and more context to a subject.
To find physical (print) books in the library, search WorldCat and get the Call Number. Call numbers are the "address" of the book and tell you where to find it in the library). Browsing the physical collection can be very helpful!
See also the Browse the Shelf feature (found under the "Item Description" bar in the item record) that shows which books would be next to that book on the actual shelf.
Use the search box below to start searching for both physical and electronic books.
- Macalester WorldCat This link opens in a new windowOnline catalog of materials owned by the library at Macalester College and libraries worldwide. Search for books, journal titles, videos, DVDs, articles, and much more. Macalester Worldcat will indicate which library (including Macalester) owns a particular item. Use the Interlibrary Loan button to ask for items owned by other libraries.
Selected eBooks
If you need more help...
If you have questions about your research, please don't hesitate to reach out to either of us.
Our contact information and calendars are on on our Profile pictures (left-hand side).