GEOG 243: Geography of Africa
Research & Instruction Librarian
Welcome
Welcome to GEOG243: Geography of Africa Library Course Guide.
Please use the links to resources below to help you with your research.
Best Bets
- African Journals Online (AJOL) This link opens in a new windowThe world’s largest online library of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals.
- AfricaBib This link opens in a new window
A collection of Africana social science titles consisting of 2 bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature and African Women's literature.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of more than 2,600 law-related periodicals. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
- GEOBASE This link opens in a new windowInternational index to the literature of geology, geography, urban geography, and ecology. Includes journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles in political science related fields including law, public administration/policy, and international relations.
- BASE This link opens in a new window
A search engine for academic web resources - includes journals, institutional repositories, digital collections etc. Many open access resources.
- Social Science Open Access Repository This link opens in a new windowDatabase of open access journal articles and working papers in the social sciences. Useful for finding scholarship written and published outside of the U.S. Use the Disciplines feature to limit your search to a specific subject area.
Access to databases currently on trial:
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
A full-text research database covering political topics with a worldwide focus, including international relations, political theory and comparative politics.
Trial ends: May 29, 2025. Please share your feedback about this resource using our Trial Database Evaluation Form!
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
Trial ends: May 8, 2025. Please share your thoughts with us by filling out our Feedback Form!
- Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Credible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
- PressReader Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of newspapers from over 100 countries and 60 languages. Includes 90 days of back issues and translation in 16 languages. Create a PressReader account in order to save articles, create collections, and read content offline. Must be on campus or connected to the VPN to create an account.
Organizations, Think Tanks, Data
- Harvard Kennedy School Think Tank SearchA Google Custom Search of more than 1200 think tanks and research centers.
- Africa Portal (Focused)Open-access research repository holds over
10,000 reports, occasional papers and policy briefs which are available for free, full-text download. - Africa PortalThe Africa Portal is a research repository and an expert analysis hub, developed by SAIIA and the Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI).
- World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new windowData source on the global economy containing statistical data for development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators which can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change and charted. Exporting options are available.
- Africa Development IndicatorsData source. Africa Development Indicators was a primary World Bank collection of development indicators on Africa, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. Most recent data from 2013.From World Bank Group: Focus on Africa
- Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Compilation of surveys conducted by polling organizations in the United States and more than 100 other countries. All surveys reported were conducted using scientifically selected random samples.
WorldCat Search
Encyclopedia Platforms
Online, full-text, subject encyclopedias & dictionaries
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Research Consultation: schedule a meeting with me
If you have questions about your research, please don't hesitate to reach out and schedule an appointment with me.