GEOG 232-01: Food, Agriculture, and the Environment
Resources of use to the course GEOG 232-01.
Research & Instruction Librarian
Research & Instruction Librarian
Welcome
This guide provides links to information resources for your Commodity Chain research.
Databases
-
Business Source Premier Provides articles, industry reports, and more on subject areas related to business, with top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. Use the Business Searching Interface to easily browse leading publications and locate company and industry profiles, country reports, and SWOT analyses.
-
Nexis Uni - Company Profiles Find company profiles, industry reports, SWOT analyses, etc.
-
Academic Search Premier Interdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
-
Google Scholar Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.
-
GEOBASE International index to the literature of geology, geography, urban geography, and ecology. Includes journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.
-
GreenFILE Research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling and beyond.
-
Nexis Uni Credible source for news, legal, and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national, and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
-
Access World News: Research Collection International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
-
US Newsstream (ProQuest) Current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
-
Credo Reference
Access to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
-
eBooks (Gale)Search across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
-
Encyclopaedia Britannica OnlineFulltext of the Encyclopaedia with links to Internet resources.
-
Oxford Reference OnlineResource of reference materials such as dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Provides database-wide searching, subject searching across sources, and individual title searching.
Government and Organization Sources
-
U.S. Department of AgricultureThis portal to USDA information provides links to research and data along with news briefs and other resources.
-
U.S. Department of Agriculture: Economic Research ServiceEconomic research reports from the USDA. This includes all sorts of topics, including individual products and commodities.
-
U.S. Department of Agriculture: Foreign Agriculture ServiceAgricultural import and export data and information.
-
USDA: CommoditiesList/links of Commodities (from USDA's Foreign Agricultural Services)
-
Food & Agriculture of the United Nations (FAO)The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts to defeat hunger.
-
World Agricultural ProductionFrom USDA: monthly reports on crop acreage, yield and production in major countries worldwide. Sources include reporting from FAS’s worldwide offices, official statistics of foreign governments, and analysis of economic data and satellite imagery.
-
Organic World"Organic-World.net provides key data and results of the global survey on organic agriculture of the Research Institute of Organic Agriculture FiBL, carried out in cooperation with the International Federation of Organic Agriculture Movements IFOAM and other partners. Furthermore background information and news related to organic farming statistics and general developments in organic agriculture world-wide are available."
Selected eBooks
-
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Call Number: EbookAlphabetical entries covering a broad range of topics in the area of food and culture. Topics range from specific foods and preparation methods to the social uses and implications of food and the pursuit of food. Bibliographies are provided for further study. -
Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America
by
Call Number: EbookCovers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink. Article topics include regions, people, ingredients, companies, advertising, historical eras, holidays and festivals, and political, scientific, and economic currents pertinent to American cuisine. -
Green Food
by
Call Number: Ebook"Provides people interested in food and agricultural systems with the basic analytical and conceptual ideas that help explain why our food system looks the way it does, and what can be done to change it." -
World Agriculture and the Environment
by
Call Number: Online and in printExcellent starting place if your commodity is covered. TOC: Agricultural trends and realities -- Agriculture and the environment -- Coffee -- Tea -- Cocoa -- Orange juice -- Sugarcane -- Soybeans -- Palm oil -- Bananas -- Cashews -- Cotton -- Wood pulp -- Rubber -- Tobacco -- Wheat -- Rice -- Corn (maize) -- Sorghum -- Cassava -- Beef -- Shrimp -- Salmon.
Worldcat (Books, Government Docs, More)
Data and Statistics
-
Food & Agriculture of the United Nations (FAO)FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.
-
OECD Agriculture StatisticsThe OECD databases on agriculture constitute a unique collection of agricultural statistics and provide a framework for quantifying and analysing the agricultural economy. This includes forecasts regarding the evolution of the main agricultural markets and commodities, detailed estimates of policy support, as well as indicators of environmental performance of agriculture.
-
USDA Data & StatsThis database is the most comprehensive tool for accessing agricultural data published by NASS. Find and download agricultural statistics for every state and county in the United States.