EDUC 250: Building Trust: Education in Global Perspective

Access to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.

Search across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.

Resource of reference materials such as dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Provides database-wide searching, subject searching across sources, and individual title searching.

Access to original reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

Note (updated 5/1/25): At this time, ERIC continues to be supported, but with some reduction in functionality. There has been uncertainty about the future of ERIC due to changes at the Department of Education. Please see our FAQ for more information.

Comprehensive research database in the field of education. Use to find journal articles, educational research reports, curricula, dissertations, conference papers, and more.

Interdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.

Large collection of scholarly journals and books from all disciplines, with stronger coverage for the humanities and social sciences. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.

Access to journals in the humanities and social sciences, covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.

Index to scholarly journals, books, and conference papers in the social sciences and humanities covering the field of Latin American studies.

The world’s largest online library of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals.

Indexes Western language literature including books, chapters from books, periodical articles and pamphlets on Asian studies.

International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.

Credible source for news, legal, and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national, and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.

Access to thousands of newspapers from over 100 countries and 60 languages. Includes 90 days of back issues and translation in 16 languages. Create a PressReader account in order to save articles, create collections, and read content offline. Must be on campus or connected to the VPN to create an account.

Current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.

The nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. For off campus access and to set up email notifications, you must create a free account with your Macalester email address while on campus or connected to the VPN.

Academic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription that supports the entire range of curriculum, from anthropology to zoology. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.

DPLA materials come from America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of these are freely available and include; photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, etc.

Streaming video platform offering thousands of multidisciplinary videos.

Video streaming service offering films from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films. Videos and clips can be embedded into Moodle.

Platino Educa offers unlimited access to hundreds of Spanish and Ibero-American movies, classified by subjects and covering themes across the Environment, Social Sciences, Language and Literature, Arts, and Social Justice.

Swank Digital Campus is an online streaming service that provides access to thousands of feature films, documentaries, foreign films and TV shows suitable for any academic department. Faculty can sign up for an instructor account and select titles to stream for their classes. Titles are available for one year from the initial request date.