Classical Mediterranean and Middle East
Selected resources for research in the Classical Mediterranean and Middle East.
Subscription Databases for Research on the Classical Mediterranean and Middle East
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Provides article references for journals across the arts and humanities disciplines, including art and art history, archeology, architecture, dance, music, film and theater, history, humanities, literature, and religion. Offers cited reference searching.
- Perseus Digital Library This link opens in a new windowDigital library of source materials for the study of the ancient world and beyond from the Tufts University Department of Classics.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Topics include ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysic logic, and philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large collection of scholarly journals and books from all disciplines, with stronger coverage for the humanities and social sciences. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
Note: Artstor has moved to the JSTOR platform. View the Artstor on JTSOR video playlist for tutorials on the new site. The legacy Artstor interface will remain available until August 1.
Library of high quality digital images of artistic photographs and artwork from museums and collections worldwide.
Open Access Databases for Research on the Classical Mediterranean and Middle East
- BASE This link opens in a new window A search engine for academic web resources - includes journals, institutional repositories, digital collections etc. Many open access resources.
- Digital Library of the Middle East The Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME) offers free and open access to the rich cultural legacy of the Middle East and North Africa by bringing together collections from a wide range of cultural heritage institutions. Developed by an engineering team from CLIR and Stanford Libraries, the platform federates and makes accessible data about collections from around the world.
- Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window DPLA materials come from America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of these are freely available and include; photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, etc.
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window Access to quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals covering a range of topics and languages.
- Dissertations and Thesis - Open Access (Proquest) This link opens in a new window Provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window A digital preservation repository that provides access to millions of digitized materials from libraries around the world. For enhanced access to materials, log into HathiTrust using your Macalester email credentials.
- Knowledge Unlatched This link opens in a new window Open access to scholarly ebooks primarily in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
- MDPI This link opens in a new window Scholarly OA publisher since 1996. Supports many diverse, peer-reviewed, OA journals with over 35,500 academic editors. Serves scholars from around the world to ensure the latest research is freely available.
- Open Book Publishers This link opens in a new window Find peer-reviewed open access books in a variety of subjects.
- Open Library of Humanities This link opens in a new window The Open Library of Humanities is a non-profit open access publisher for the humanities and social sciences.
Open Access Databases and Digital Libraries
- Arabic Collections OnlineThis collection of public domain and otherwise out of copyright materials pulls from the Arabic collections of research libraries worldwide. Topical content is interdisciplinary.
- World Digital LibraryContains primary source materials (books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films) from around the world presented in a highly searchable manner.
- EuropeanaThis site allows you to search across the digital archives and holdings of many significant European galleries, archives, libraries, and museums, including Judaica Europeana, Bodleian Libraries, EuroPhoto, the Natural Europe Project, and Museo Galileo.