Geography

In order to share Zotero libraries with other students and access your library from another computer connected to the internet, you'll need to use the syncing feature. Zotero automatically saves items from your Zotero library to your computer and only your computer. Once you've enabled synching,  items, notes, links and tags in your Zotero library on your own computer are available online when you login to your Zotero account from another computer. 

To enable syncing, you will need to link your Zotero account with the Zotero application on your computer: 

1. From the Zotero application on your computer, open preferences ( Many of Zotero's features can be customized via the Zotero preferences window. Open the preferences by clicking Edit → Preferences/Settings” (Windows/Linux) or “Zotero → Preferences/Settings (Mac)
2. Click Sync and enter your username and password for your Zotero account

You can find more information on synching in the Zotero Help Documentation on Synching 

Adding items to Zotero

There are two ways to add the citation of a source that you have found in a database or elsewhere on the internet  to your Zotero library:

Option 1: Add using the Zotero browser connector by clicking the browser extension icon 

Option 2: Add using the library database's export function, which will appear in the database as a button labeled Export, Send To, or Cite (depending on the database)

File format: When exporting, you will be prompted to select file format. Choose the RIS file format. 

For more information on adding specific types of sources and multiple sources at the same time, please see the Zotero documentation on Adding Items to Zotero. 

Adding and editing in-text citations to your paper

Steps to add in-text citations from your Zotero library to your paper in Word of Google Docs 

1. Place the cursor where you want the citation to appear, depending on the citation style you are using (APA, Chicago, MLA, etc.) 
2. From the tool bar at the top of the Word or Google Docs program window, click Zotero, and then select Add/Edit Citation (see screen shot)
3. In the Citation Format pop-up that appears, select the citation style you would like to use in your paper
4. In the Zotero pop-up that appears, start typing the title or the author of the citation(s) you want to add, and then hit the Enter key. If you'd prefer to select your citation from a list, click the arrow to show display options, and then select Classic view

Editing in-text citations 

• If you need to edit an in-text citation because something is appearing incorrectly, DO NOT make changes in the Word or Google document; instead, make changes to the record in the Zotero program.  

After you've added at least one in-text citation to your paper from your Zotero library, you can create a bibliography in any citation style (i.e. APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.) that automatically updates whenever you add in-text citations to your paper. Follow the instructions below. 

Steps for Creating a Bibliography in Zotero

1. Open the Zotero application on your computer

2. Open the paper you are writing that you will be adding a bibliography to in either Microsoft Word or Google Docs

3. Type the heading for your bibliography (i.e. "Bibliography," Works Cited," or "Reference List", depending on your assignment instructions and the citation style you are using) and then position your cursor below this heading (click or hit the Enter key).

4. Next, click Zotero in the Tool Bar at the top of the window, and then click Add/Edit Bibliography. A bibliography that includes all of the in-text citations you added from your Zotero library to your paper will appear. You can keep adding in-text citations to your paper and your bibliography will automatically update if your settings are configured correctly. 

The Writing Center at Purdue University has created the most widely used, comprehensive guides to citation available.

• APA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue University, OWL)

• Chicago Formatting & Style Guide (Purdue University, OWL)

• Formatting in Sociology (ASA Style) (Purdue University, OWL)

• MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue University, OWL)