Skip to Main Content

Psychology

Selected resources in Psychology

Getting Started and Installation

Zotero is a free citation manager. Citation managers are programs that let you create your own database of citations for your research where you can organize your citations and easily add them to your paper.

Use Zotero to:

  • Keep all your citations in one place

  • Store PDFs and links to citations sources 

  • Sort your citations to organize your research ideas

  • Create reference lists for your paper, in any citation style

  • Add in-text citations to your paper, in any citation style

How to Install and Set Up Zotero


To use Zotero most efficiently, you need to create a free Zotero account and install two programs on your computer.

This section features a list of steps you can follow to get Zotero up and running on your computer, as well as some helpful links.

Step

What to do

Where to do it
Download and Install Programs

  1. Go to Zotero.org

  2. First, download the Zotero application to your computer.

  3. Next, open the file you just downloaded (.dmg file for Mac OS and .exe file for Windows OS) and follow the prompts

  4. Return to Zotero.org  and download and install the Zotero Connector. 

https://www.zotero.org/download/
Verify Installation

  1. Open the word processor(s) you will be using to write your papers (i.e. Microsoft Word of Google Docs)

  2. Check that Zotero has been added to the Toolbar/Ribbon at the top. If it has not, try closing and re-opening the application. 

Microsoft Word and/or Google Docs
Create Zotero Account
  1. Return to Zotero.org and click Log In, located in the upper right
     
  2. Once on the Log In page, click the "Register for a Free Account" link located above the "Login" heading
     
  3. Create a username and password (Note: your Zotero credentials are NOT associated with your Macalester username and password)

https://www.zotero.org/user/login/
Link and Sync

In this step, you will configure important settings to sync your Zotero account and your Zotero application. This is essential, as you will be using Google Docs to write your papers.

  1. Open your Zotero application
     
  2. Navigate to Settings: From the Toolbar, click "File" (Windows) or "Zotero" (Mac) and then select Settings/Preferences
     
  3. Open the Sync tab
     
  4. Type your Zotero username and password

Zotero application you downloaded to your computer in Step 1

Adding Items to your Zotero Library

There are three recommended ways to add the citation of a source (i.e. item) that you find during your research to your Zotero Library.

Method of adding 

Best for adding...

How to do it

Zotero Connector

 

  • Articles

  • Books

  • Websites 

  • Videos

  • Audio clips

  • Reports

  • From your web browser, look to the right of the url bar and click the browser extension icon (i.e. the Zotero Connector Save Button)

    • The icon will appear to the as one of the images below, depending on the content you are saving (article, book, website, video, etc.)

  • A small pop-up will appear where you can select the collection/folder in your library that you'd like to save the item; note if you do nothing,

    • Zotero will automatically save the item in the last collection you opened - you can always move it later

  • Check your Zotero library to make sure the item was added

Manual 

 

 

  • Any items, especially those that you have trouble adding with the Zotero Connector

  • Articles found in PubMed database

  • Print items 

  • From the Zotero application on your computer, click the button with the plus sign and the wand and enter the ISBN, DOI, or PubMedID, and most of the information will auto-populate.

  • If you don't have one of these numbers, click the button with the plus sign and add all the necessary information yourself. 

Database export function

 

 

  • Anything found in library databases

  • From the item record in the library database (i.e. WorldCat Discover, Academic Search Premier, PsychInfo, etc,), click the button that says "Cite" or "Export"

  • Next, from the Cite/Export menu, select RIS as the file format 

  • Then, to finish adding the item to your Zotero library, open your browser downloads and open the RIS citation file you just downloaded.

Editing Items

When you need to edit the information in an item (citation) that you've added to your library and your paper, you must make these edits in the Zotero application.

DO NOT make any changes to the text of the in-text citations or the citations in the reference list IN your paper (i.e. word processor) because  this can unlink your paper from Zotero, and there is no way to undo this. Additionally, changes you make to citations in your paper will not be made to the item in your Zotero library. 
 

Follow these steps to edit information for citations you've included in your paper:

  1. If you've identified an error in the information about an item (i.e. the title is not capitalized correctly, the publication date is missing, etc.), go to your Zotero desktop application and select the item that needs edits.
  2.  In the Info Tab in the panel on the right, type the edits directly into the field. The changes will automatically save as soon as you make them.
  3.  Check that the changes are appearing in your paper. You may need to refresh Zotero from your paper by clicking the "Zotero" button in the toolbar and selecting "Refresh".

Organizing your Zotero Library

Why Organize? 

Organizing items in your Zotero library helps you retrieve sources for current and future projects, keep track of the scholarly conversation on your topic, and organize your thoughts as you analyze your sources.

Zotero offers three tools to organize your library: collections, tags, and notes.

Collections

Collections allow hierarchical organization of items into groups and subgroups. Collections are useful for filing items into meaningful groups (e.g., items for a particular project, from a specific source, on a specific topic, or for a particular course). Think of collections like music playlists: items in collections are aliases (or “links”) to a single copy of the item in your library. 

  • You can import items directly to a specific collection or add them to collections after they are already in your library.

  • The same item can belong to multiple collections and subcollections in your library at the same time.

  • The left pane includes My Library, which contains all the items in your library. Right-click on "My Library" or click on the New Collection button () above the left pane to create a new collection, a folder into which items relating to a specific project or topic can be placed.

  • To see what collections an item is in, select the item and then hold down the Option key (macOS), Control key (Windows), or Alt (Zotero 6)/Ctrl (Zotero 7) key (Linux). This will highlight all collections that contain the selected item.
     

Tags

Tags (often called “keywords” in other contexts) allow for detailed characterization of an item. You can tag items based on their topics, methods, status, ratings, or even based on your own workflow (e.g., “to-read”).

  • Items can have as many tags as you like, and you can filter your library (or a specific collection) to show items having a specific set of one or more tags.

  • Up to 6 tags can be assigned colors. Colored tags are readily visible in the item list and can be quickly added or removed using the number keys on your keyboard.

  • Tags are added or removed with the tag selector at the bottom of the left pane or through the Tags tab of any item in the right-hand pane.

Collections v. Tags

  • Tags are portable, but collections are not. Copying items between Zotero libraries (My Library and group libraries) will transfer their tags, but not their collection placements.

  • Collections are hierarchical, but tags are not.

Notes

Rich-text notes can be attached to any item through the Notes tab in the right-hand pane. They can be edited in the right-hand pane or in their own window. Click the New Note button () in the toolbar to create a note without attaching it to an item. 

Removing/Deleting Items and Deduplicating 

  • Deleting: If you want to remove an item from your Zotero Library, you can delete it by right clicking the item and selecting "Move item to trash" from the dropdown; you can recover the item by clicking the trashcan icon in the left panel
  • De-Duplicating: If you want to automatically check your library for duplicate items and merge them, which is helpful if you have many items in your library already or have added some to your paper, follow these steps (for more information, see the Zotero Help Documentation entry on Duplicate Detection:
    •  Steps for deduplicating and merging
    1. Click the folder (i.e. collection), found in the left panel, named "Duplicate Items"
    2. In the center panel, where you will see a list of all the items Zotero has identified as duplicates, select an item; note Zotero will then select all of the duplicate items in relation to the item you selected
    3. In the right panel, select the item you would like to serve as the "master version" and then click the button at the top of the right panel, "Merge X Items"

 

Working in Your Paper: In-Text Citations and Reference Lists

How to Add In-Text Citations To Your Paper

After you have added sources to your Zotero library, you can start adding in-text citations to your paper. Whether you are writing your paper in Google Docs or in Microsoft Word, the steps to add in-text citations are the same. 

Step 1: Placement In Google Docs or Microsoft Word, position your cursor where you want the in-text citation to appear in your document and click there
Step 2: Zotero icon Click the the Zotero icon in the toolbar located near the top of your document window (Google Docs or Microsoft Word) and then select "Add/Edit citation"
Step 3: Style selection

Select the citation style you would like to use in your paper (check your assignment instructions or ask your instructor)

Note that if you're not sure what citation style you should use, you can always easily change your selection later (see Changing Citation Styles section of this Research Guide)
Step 4: Citation selection Once a red Zotero pop-up appears, start typing the title or the author of the citation you want to add; when the citation you want to add appears, select it, and hit the enter key on your keyboard.

 

How to Create a Bibliography with Zotero

There are three ways to create a bibliography (i.e. reference list) in your paper with Zotero.

If your assignment requires in-text citations, use the word-processor integration method. If your assignment does not require in-text citations and you just need a bibliography, you can use either the Quick Copy method or the Right-Click Export method. 


Steps for Creating a Bibliography with Word-Processor Integration

After you've added at least one in-text citation to your paper from your Zotero library, you can create a bibliography that automatically updates whenever you add in-text citations to your paper and when you move around in-text citations in your paper. 

Step 1          Open the Zotero application
Step 2 Open the word processor (Microsoft Word or Google Docs) that you are using to write your paper
Step 3 In your paper, type the heading for your reference list (i.e. "Reference List," "Works Cited," or "Bibliography" depending on your assignment instructions and the citation style you are using), and then position your cursor below this heading
Step 4 Next, click the Zotero button in your word processor tool bar and then click Add/Edit Bibliography, and then a bibliography including all of references currently included as in-text citations in your paper will appear.

 


Additional Resources from Zotero

How to Create a Bibliography with Quick Copy and Right-Click Export

If you do not need to use in-text citations in your paper and you just need a bibliography, you can either drag references from your Zotero library (i.e. your Zotero application) directly to your word processor, or you can right click references in your Zotero library and select  “Create Bibliography from Selected Item(s)…”. For more details on these two methods, see the Zotero Support Documentation on Creating Bibliographies

Using Zotero to create your annotated bibliography

Zotero can also help you create an annotated bibliography with just one additional step. You will add your notes about each item (i.e. your summary/reflection/evaluation) into the item record in the Zotero application, just like how you would add or edit other item information, such as the title or the volume number.

For information on citation guidelines, i.e. what you should include in your annotations, and where they should be included in your paper, see Macalester's Citation Research Guide 

Steps to download the styles you'll need to create annotated bibliographies (you'll just need to do this once!)
  1. Go to Zotero's style repository
  2. Select the annotated bibliography version of the citation style you want from the list (you can start typing the name at the top):
  3. When you see a Zotero Connector dialogue box that asks "Add citation style to Zotero?" click Yes 
Steps to create an annotated bibliography with Zotero
  1. Add items to your Zotero library: Add items like you normally would (see the Adding Citations section of this guide)
  2. Add your notes to the Extra field: Open the Zotero application, and add your notes about each annotated bibliography source/item that you want in your annotated bibliography by selecting the item and adding your notes to the Extra field in right Info panel
    • If there is other information in the Extra field, you can delete it or move it. 
    • Depending on your preference, you can type out your notes in a different program and copy them into the item's Extra field in your Zotero library, or you can type them directly in the Extra field
  3. Choose items to add to your annotated bibliography. Select all of the items you'd like to include in your annotated bibliography or a given section of your annotated bibliography (hold the Alt or Command key to select multiple items), right click, and then select Create Bibliography from Items...
  4. Set Zotero output specifications. Select the following options and then click the okay button: 
    • Citation Style: select the annotated bibliography style version you want to use (i.e. APA annotated, MLA annotated, Chicago annotated)
    • Output Mode: select Bibliography
    • Output Method:  select Copy to Clipboard 
  5. Paste copied Zotero output into your paper: Go to your paper in your word processor (i.e. Microsoft Word), place your cursor where you'd like to add your annotated bibliography references with annotations, and right click and select paste. 

How to Change the Citation Style in Your Paper

Follow these steps to change the citation style you are currently using in your paper:

  1. From your document in Google Docs or Microsoft Word, click the Zotero option in the toolbar 
  2. Select "Document Preferences"
  3. When the Document Preferences window appears, you will see a list of citation styles; highlight the citation style you would like to use and click "OK"

What to do in your Zotero desktop application versus your word processor versus Zotero.com:

Zotero Desktop Application

 

Microsoft Word

(i.e. your Word Processor) 

Zotero.com 

 
  • Edit item information that appears in your in-text citations and bibliography
  • Organize items in your library with tags, collections (folders) and notes
  • Configure settings 
  • Add in-text citations to your paper
  • Create a bibliography in your paper
  • Change the citation stye of your paper
  • Share your collections and items
  • Collaborate with other students

 

Sharing Your Zotero Library

Overview of Zotero Groups

You will use Zotero Groups by logging into your Zotero account at Zotero.com. With Zotero Groups, you can: 

  • Share your own work or sources you have discovered with others who are working in related areas.

  • Collaborate with colleagues, publicly or privately, on ongoing research.

  • Discover other people with similar interests and the sources they are citing.

 

Setting up a Zotero Group

  1. Name your group

  2. Decide what type of privacy is best for your group (public or private)

  3. If you opt for a public group, decide what type of membership is best for your group (open or closed)

  4. Click the privacy-membership option that's right for you, and then click the Create Group button

  5. Next, configure your group setting

 

Inviting People to Join Your Group

To invite new group members, click the “Send More Invitations” link at the bottom of the Settings page within your group. Pending invitations can also be cancelled from this page.


Types of Group Members

  • Regular members

  • Administrators: can change a group's public/private status, members' roles, and group library settings

  • Group owners: have all the same privileges as administrators, but can also delete the group or transfer ownership to another member

 

More Information and Help

For more information, check out the Zotero support documentation on Setting up Groups

Moving your RefWorks Citations to Zotero

  1. Go to RefWorks.proquest.com  and sign in using your Macalester email and the password you created for RefWorks
  2. In your RefWorks library, select the references (i.e. items/citations) you want to add to your Zotero library
  3. Click the Share button (top tool bar), and when the dropdown menu appears, select Export References
  4. In the pop-up that appears, select the following options and then click the Export button:
    • For From, select Selected References 
    • For Format, select RIS format
    • For ID Output, select RefWorks Default
  5. After you click the Export button, a Zotero dialogue box will appear that says: "Zotero Connector: Import items from refworks.proquest.com into Zotero?" Click the Ok button in the dialogue box, and your references will then be imported into your Zotero LIbrary. Note if you do not have Zotero Connector installed, you will have to locate the reference files on your local computer and select them. 

FAQs about Zotero

Click the green "new item" button and select “Book Section,” which will add a “Title” field for the chapter title and a separate “Book Title” field. To add an editor, click the + sign on the author line in the right column. You may need to type the information into these fields yourself. For more information, see the Zotero Knowledge Base.

The PubMed database only offers the .nbib file format for exporting citations. Unfortunately, this file format is not compatible with Zotero. To export a citation you found in PubMed, you have a few options:
 

  1. If the full text is available from a source outside of PubMed/PMC, click the full text button and export the citation from there.
  2. If the full text of the article you found in PubMed appears to only be available in PubMed/PMC, use the Zotero Connector to add it to your library by clicking the browser icon in the top left.
  3. If you do not have Zotero Connector and the article is only available in PubMed/PMC, you can search for the same article in WorldCat Discover on the Macalester Library website, and add it to your library from there.

 

Click the Attachments tab in the right-hand section of the Zotero pane, or right click the item and choose "Add attachment." For more information, see the Zotero Knowledge Base

Troubleshooting

Having issues using Zotero? You have options!

  • Get help from a Macalester Librarian: You can schedule an appointment with a Research and Instruction Librarian!

    • Don't see a time that works for you? Email us and we'll figure something out!

  • Find Answers in Help Documentation: Take a look at the resources within the Zotero support documentation; the list below includes our favorites that students find the most helpful, so we recommend starting with these!

Troubleshooting Resources