German Studies
German Newspapers
- Focus Online The third largest weekly news magazine in Germany; recent content only with subscription, the archive offers full-text for free, starting with 1993.
- Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung FAZ is a leading national newspaper; searching theindex of the archive from 1993 to present is free; access to full-text is fee-based; the FAZ archive has two parts: F.A.Z. 49-92, and F.A.Z.-BiblioNet (1993 ff.).
- Frankfurter Rundschau It is the largest newspaper in the Rhein- Main area, searching the index is free, access to full-text is fee-based.
- GENIOS Presse It offers a search across 180 newspapers from 1983 to the present, some free content; access to some full-text is fee-based.
- Die Presse (Austria) full-text content from 2001
- Der Spiegel (news journal) a weekly political jpurnal; recent content is only available with a subscription, next link, the Spiegel Archiv 1947-offers free full-text.
- Spiegel Archiv 1947 The Spiegel Archiv 1947-offers free full-text versions of articles in Der Spiegel.
- Süddeutsche Zeitung Founded in 1945, is the largest national daily. “today’s issue” is freely available; but the next day that content is only available for a fee or with subscription.
- Der Stern (news journal) largest popular weekly journal on politics, culture and science; offers mostly preview of articles
- Die Tageszeitung taz Founded in 1979; archive offers free plain text starting with 1986
- Die Welt It was founded in 1946, searching the index to the archive is free , selected free content starts with 1995, the advances search allows
- Die Zeit Print Archiv (1946-) It offers free full-text, but the archive does not contain everything that is in the print edition
- ANNO: Austrian Newspapers Online Digitization project for Austrian newspapers (late 19th and early 20th century).
- Compact Memory: Retrospektive Digitalisierung jüdischer Periodika im deutschsprachigen Raum A major digitization project of Jewish German periodicals (mainly 19th and early 20th century).
- DDR Presse Part of ZEFYS (see below). Open access to three major East German papers -- Neues Deutschland, Berliner Zeitung, Neue Zeit (registration is required)
- Europeana Includes some full-text newspaper collections
- Exilpresse digital a selection of significant German exile magazines (1933-1945)
- Historic German Newspapers Online Open access newspapers, a part of EuroDocs:Index deutschsprachiger Zeitschriften 1750-1815
- ZEFYS: Zeitungsinformationssystem It provides 270.454 issues from 171 historical newspapers Includes DDR Presse and Amtspresse Preußens
- Zeitgeschichtliches Archiv Zeitgeschichtliches Archiv of interest, in particular, for the period immediately after World War II. Indexes 9 million newspaper clippings. The search is free but there is a fee for obtaining copies of the documents.
International Archives & Special Collections
- Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek The DDB aims "to bring together and network digital content from all of Germany’s cultural and scientific institutions." Feeds into Europeana.
- Europeana This site allows you to search across the digital archives and holdings of many significant European galleries, archives, libraries, and museums, including Judaica Europeana, Bodleian Libraries, EuroPhoto, the Natural Europe Project, and Museo Galileo.
- Federal Archives (Germany) Official archives of Germany; database of documents, media, maps.
- Projekt Gutenberg - DE Public domain texts
- Filmportal.de Open resource for German film and media studies in both German and English (abridged).
- Last Updated: Oct 3, 2024 12:31 PM
- URL: https://libguides.macalester.edu/germ
- Print Page