All Guides: EDUC 194: We Demand: Student Power, World Building, and Democratizing Higher Education: Getting Started

Research & Instruction Librarian

She/her

Contact:

Library Room 305A
hillemann@macalester.edu

651-696-6704

Subjects: Anthropology, Economics, Educational Studies, Geography, International Studies, Linguistics, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology

Research & Instruction Librarian

Talia Nadir

she/her

Contact:

Library Room 305B
tnadir@macalester.edu

651-696-6805

Subjects: Anthropology, Economics, Educational Studies, Geography, International Studies, Linguistics, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology

Library Resources

Questions or Concerns?

Are you wondering where to find or use information? We are experts who can help you with such things as overviews, deep scholarship, "missing" voices, data, and much more. Do you need to narrow your topic? Create a complicated citation by tomorrow? Contact us through email or simply fill out this form:

Meet with a Librarian

Topic Overviews

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Access to original reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

Local Historical Resources

Mac Weekly, The This link opens in a new window
Archive for Macalester's weekly student newspaper publication.

Mac Weekly
Newspaper1915
St. Paul, Minn. : Macalester College
Began in 1914.
MNOPEDIA
A resource for reliable information about significant people, places, events, and things in Minnesota history.
MN Historical Society
The Minnesota Historical Society preserves Minnesota's past, shares our state's stories and connects people with history in meaningful ways, for today and for tomorrow.
MN Digital Library
Access archives and materials related to Minnesota history. The Minnesota Digital Library (MDL) supports discovery and education through access to unique digital collections shared by cultural heritage organizations from across the state of Minnesota. Our contributors include libraries, historical societies, museums, and archives.

St. Paul Pioneer Press This link opens in a new window
Current content as well as archives going back to 1948. Full-page digital images of the complete paper are available for the historical archive (1948 to 1987) as well as the most recent issues (2018 to present). Articles from 1988 to 2018 are available in full-text, but without page images.

Of Added Interest

Some links to information on local redlining, racial covenants, housing segregation, etc.

Racism in Macalester-Groveland
A look into redlining and racial covenants in the neighborhood and the impact they still have today. Inspired by the work of Welcoming the Dear Neighbor’s Mapping Prejudice , a volunteer-based project that maps existing racial covenants across the Twin Cities, students at St. Kate's created this StoryMap about the history of redlining and racial covenants in the Macalester-Groveland neighborhood.
Discharging Racial Covenants: City of St. Paul
The City of Saint Paul has joined the Just Deeds Coalition to connect residents to resources to remove restrictive racial covenants from property deeds in an effort to make Saint Paul more equitable today and contribute to the wellbeing of generations to come.
Mapping Prejudice
The work of of historians, geographers, librarians, digital humanists and community activists seeking to expose structural racism.
New research details historically racist housing practices in Ramsey County
Newspaper article from Sahan Journal.
Racial covenants were written into a home’s deed, barring people of color from buying or selling the property. They were most common in the first half of the 20th Century, but their impact continues to influence modern-day inequities, researchers say.
Jim Crow of the North
A Twin Cities PBS Original documentary. Its stories "acknowledge the pain and inequity rooted in our past but feature responses that use nonviolent, direct action."
Housing Covenants in Minnesota
Discussion: Housing covenants in Minnesota
Minnesota Public Radio (MPR), 2022.

WorldCat Search

Database for Education Research

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center -- ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive research database in the field of education. Use to find journal articles, educational research reports, curricula, dissertations, conference papers, and more.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.

Google Scholar
Google's database of scholarly sources.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large archival collection of core scholarly journals in the major academic areas, providing full text back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.

News Resources

Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Credible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
New York Times Archive This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of the New York Times from the first issue in 1851 to 4 years ago. Includes full page and article images. Most recent years of the Times can be searched in US Newsstream or New York Times - Digital Microfilm.