Biology
Databases for Biology Scholarship
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annually synthesizes primary research literature and identifies principal contributions in many disciplines. Full-text available for online titles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large collection of scholarly journals and books from all disciplines, with stronger coverage for the humanities and social sciences. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
Databases From Related Disciplines
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Contains publication in the area of health and medicine research. Includes MedLine which records are indexed with NLM's controlled vocabulary, the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). Links to full-text online holdings are listed where the citations match Macalester Library e-journal resources.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center -- ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Note: Due to budget cuts at the Department of Education, the number of sources indexed in ERIC will be reduced by approximately 45% starting April 24, 2025.
Comprehensive research database in the field of education. Use to find journal articles, educational research reports, curricula, dissertations, conference papers, and more.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books, conference papers, government documents and research reports in the area of family studies.
Biology News
Science Daily
- New research finds fluorescence in feathers of long-eared owlsThis link opens in a new windowApr 8, 2025Researchers report their discovery of fluorescent pigments in the feathers of Long-eared Owls, that can only be seen by humans with the help of ultraviolet light.
- What's on the menu for Ryukyu's minute mammals?This link opens in a new windowApr 8, 2025Japan's Ryukyu Islands, which includes Okinawa, are the exclusive home to two rare mammals, the Amami rabbit and Ryukyu long-furred rat. These animals are hard to observe, but conservationists wish to find out specific details about their diets. So researchers inspected the teeth from deceased specimens to find out what the animals were eating, and at different times. Their findings show the rabbits have consistent diets, whereas the rats' change with the seasons.
- Quantum quasiparticle could make future quantum computers more reliableThis link opens in a new windowApr 8, 2025Supported by the U.S. National Science Foundation, physicists have revealed the presence of a previously unobserved type of subatomic phenomenon called a fractional exciton. Their findings confirm theoretical predictions of a quasiparticle with…
Statistics and Data
- BRENDAThis database provides a thorough survey of enzyme information and resources.
- Protein Data BanksThis data bank provides information about the shapes and assemblies of proteins, with the goal of helping students and educators understand biomedicine and the way it can help our society.
- USCS Genome BrowserThis database provides chromosomal and DNA sequence information, using a visually informative layout.
Biology Protocols
Check out these links to online tools for protocol and lab safety in biology research.
- Protocol OnlineThis online reference tool organizes protocol and also provides links to scientific breakthroughs and a forum for discussion.
- Bio-ProtocolAn open, peer-reviewed online library for biology protocol, with searching tools based on field and organism.
- American Society for MicrobiologyASM provides information on tests and procedures used in biology labs, as well as relevant tips and safety guidelines.