Skip to Main Content

Biology

This is a guide for research in biology

Using Databases

As a student, staff, or faculty member at Macalester, you have access to a wide range of databases. Searching databases can help you to find articles written by expert researchers, specialized resources, and other sources that may or may not be available through a Google search. 

For additional research support, reach out to your subject librarian.

🔍

Types of Articles

In a primary research article, author(s) present a new set of findings from original research after conducting an original experiment.

Some primary research is also referred to as original research, empirical research, research articles.

Primary biology research can take many forms, including theses, dissertations, scholarly journal articles (research based), some government reports, symposia and conference proceedings, and more.

Identifying Primary Research

A few things to look for when deciphering whether an article contains primary research:

  • Introduces new data, information or theories
  • Written by those who conducted the research
  • Includes a section describing how the data was collected (usually called "methods") and a section describing and analyzing findings (usually called "results")

 

See also: Primary Data Source | Encyclopedia of Research Design

A review summarizes the current research on a particular topic. These articles are often found in peer-reviewed journals.

These articles are not intended to provide original research, but to help draw connections between research studies that have previously been published. They may describe how current understanding of a topic has developed over time and identify gaps or inconsistencies that need further exploration.

Some review articles are also referred to as literature reviews, meta-analyses, systematic reviews, or secondary sources.

Identifying Review Articles

  • The article cites data that was not collected by the scholars writing the article
  • There may not be a “Materials and Methods” section
  • Some databases will have filters to limit to or exclude review articles, and some will also label review articles

 

See also: Literature Review | Encyclopedia of Research Design

Conference Proceedings

Conference proceedings are the documentation of the abstracts of scientific presentations made in the conferences.

It is less formal than the scholarly articles were the abstracts are published before it is well established as manuscripts. This can include original research, reviews, case report or series, best findings, techniques or methods. The proceedings recognize the researchers working on a topic and standing of research in particular domain.

Source: PubMed Central

Pre-Prints

A pre-print is a paper that is submitted to a journal, prior to any peer-review process.

These preliminary versions, or manuscript versions, of scholarly works – especially journal articles – are made available to the (professional) public. As a rule, they are non-peer-reviewed versions whose public release primarily serves to expedite the sharing of research findings. Preprints are made freely available to the public on preprint servers, thereby also making an important contribution to green open access.

Source: Open Access Network

Trade Publication

A trade publication is a regularly published collection of articles that address topics of interest to members of a particular profession, such as law enforcement or advertising or banking. These are variously referred to as trade magazines or trade journals. Trade journals might also include editorials, letters to the editor, photo essays, and advertisements that target members of the profession.

Source: University of North Florida

White Papers

A white paper is an authoritative report detailing an issue, position, problem, solution, or even a commercial product and service.

They are often produced or commissioned by a government agency or office, providing in-depth background information on topics of public interest, including proposed and existing legislation and government policies. They are now also a common tool in marketing, used by corporations, private companies, and nonprofit organizations alike to inform or sway the general public, prospective customers, journalists, and even investors.

Source: Encyclopedia Britannica

General Science Databases

These databases can also be a great place to start, as they are multidisciplinary, but more focused on the sciences. These can be a great source as you start to look for more specialized research, but can also include some broader perspectives.

 

See also: All Macalester Databases A-Z

Biology Databases

These databases contain specialized research in particular subjects or disciplines. They are most useful when you're doing a deep dive into specialized research. 

Below are a few of the databases you might find helpful in biology research.

Health & Biomedical

Biodiversity & Evolution

Earth & Environmental Sciences

Biochemistry

 

See also: All Macalester Biology Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Multidisciplinary databases allow you to search for information on a topic across subject areas. This is often a great way to get started searching for articles or exploring your topic, as the results are not restricted to highly specialized sources. 

 

See also: All Macalester Databases A-Z

Data & Statistics