ART 280/CLAS 294: Art and Architecture of Ancient Egypt
Research guide to complement the course, ART 280-01/CLAS 294-01 Art and Architecture of Ancient Egypt
Arts & Humanities and Special Collections Librarian
Ginny Moran
she/her
Contact:
Library, Room 303
vmoran@macalester.edu
vmoran@macalester.edu
651-696-6398
Subjects: Art & Art History, Asian Languages and Cultures, Classical Mediterranean and Middle East, English, French and Francophone Studies, German Studies, History, Media and Cultural Studies, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian Studies, Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin American Studies, Theater and Dance, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Search the Library Catalog
Writing about Art
A Short Guide to Writing about Art by
This text guides art students through the writing process. Students are shown how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture. The text includes: coverage of essential writing assignments including formal analysis, comparison, research paper, review of an exhibition, essay examination; clear step-by-step writing instructions guiding students though the research and writing processes; sample essays, with analytic comments by the author, demonstrating the virtues of effective writing.
Call Number: eBook, and MAC Lower Level - Art Collection N7476 .B37 2015ISBN: 9780205886999Publication Date: 2014-01-15
Writing about Art by
This straightforward guide prepares students to describe, interpret, and write about works of art in meaningful and lasting terms. Designed as a supplement to Art History survey and period texts, this efficient book features a step-by-step approach to writing--from choosing a work to write about, to essay organization, to research techniques, to footnote form, to preparing the final essay. For beginners as well as more advanced students [Publisher description]
Call Number: eBook, and MAC Lower Level - Art Collection N7476 .S29 2009ISBN: 9780205645787Publication Date: 2008-07-10
Related Research Guides
Good starting points for your research
Index Islamicus
Indexes worldwide literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Covers Muslim life including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. Includes journals, conference proceedings, monographs and book reviews. Journals and books indexed o the article and chapter level.
Art Full Text
The main database for research in art and art history. Includes both popular and academic titles.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Index to journal articles in history, especially non-US history, covering 1450-present.
Perseus Digital Library
Digital library of source materials for the study of the ancient world and beyond from the Tufts University Department of Classics.
Books and eBooks
Topic Overviews and Background Information
- MetPublications
Searchable and in many cases downloadable publications from the Metropolitan Museum of Art
A Companion to Ancient Egyptian Art by Call Number: Lower Level - Art Collection N5350 .C66 2015ISBN: 9781444333503Publication Date: 2014-11-17A Companion to Ancient Egyptian Art presents a comprehensive collection of original essays exploring key concepts, critical discourses, and theories that shape the discipline of ancient Egyptian art.
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Egyptian Architecture by Call Number: eBook, and MAC Lower Level - Art Collection NA215 .A74513 2003ISBN: 0691114889Publication Date: 2003-02-09"The Encyclopedia of Ancient Egyptian Architecture documents that tradition and provides a single-volume reference on one of the most remarkable architectures of the ancient world. Separate entries are provided for each of the most important sites, covering monuments such as the Step Pyramid of Djoser (the world's first significant stone building), the tombs of the Valley of the Kings, Hatshepsut's mortuary temple at Deir el-Bhari, and the great Ptolemaic temples that line the Upper Nile. Every aspect of building design and construction is also considered in separate entries, covering technical aspects such as building materials (from reed and mud brick to sandstone and granite) and construction techniques (including pyramid building and the erection of obelisks)." -- book jacket
Oxford Art Online by ISBN: 9781884446054Publication Date: 2002Access to the "The Dictionary of Art" (formerly known as "The Grove Dictionary of Art") and "The Oxford Companion to Western Art." Offers additions of new and updated articles, thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles.
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography by Call Number: eBook and MAC Lower Level - Art Collection N7560 .E53 1998 v. 1 & v. 2ISBN: 1579580092Publication Date: 1998-04-01"Answers to how various mythological, Biblical, and literary themes have been treated in literature, art, music, and the performing arts can be found in this work. It provides an analysis of over 100 selected themes that reflect the increasingly interdisciplinary nature of scholarly and academic work through the use of various iconographical sources. The alphabetical arrangement facilitates browsing, while the six indexes provide multiple access by considering, among others, references to the Bible; Judeo-Christian personages, places and concepts; and artists and works of art"--American Libraries
Other sources for books and articles
- JSTOR Art and Art History Subject CollectionA grouping of resources including journals and ebooks in JSTOR focused on art and art history.
Search for Images
- British MuseumMuseum of world history and culture in London
- EuropeanaDiscover inspiring cultural heritage from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.
- Metropolitan Museum of ArtComprehensive art museum in New York City
- MIA: Minneapolis Institute of ArtA comprehensive art museum located in Minneapolis, founded in 1883. The collection includes more than 89,000 objects, many with extensive metadata included online. Holdings span from about 20,000 BCE and represent diverse cultures across six continents. The museum has seven curatorial areas: Arts of Africa & the Americas; Contemporary Art; Decorative Arts, Textiles & Sculpture; Asian Art; Paintings; Photography and New Media; and Prints and Drawings.
- Museum of Fine Arts (Boston): CollectionsThe MFA is one of the most comprehensive art museums in the world; the collection encompasses nearly 500,000 works of art. --Website
- Musée du LouvreThe Louvre has eight departments. The Egyptian Antiquities, the Near Eastern Antiquities; the Greek, Etruscan and Roman Antiquities which are presented beside more modern collections as departments of Paintings and of Sculptures, the Decorative Arts, the Prints and Drawings and the department of Islamic Arts. Overall, 38,000 artworks are presented including universally-admired works such as The Victory of Samothrace, The Seated Scribe, The Winged human-headed bull from Khorsabad, The Mona Lisa, The Slaves of Michelangelo or the Napoleon III apartments.
- Oriental Institute: CollectionsThe Oriental Institute Museum at the University of Chicago was opened to the public in 1931. The majority of the collections of the Oriental Institute came from its expeditions in the Middle East during the 1920s, 1930s, and 1940s. --Website
- Penn Museum: CollectionsThe Penn Museum is the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology.
- World Digital LibrarySignificant primary materials from all countries and cultures in multilingual format. This is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.