Ask a question!

chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AMST 226/HIST 226 American Indian History since 1871: Getting Started

Citation in History

The most commonly used citation style in historical scholarship is Chicago, notes and bibliography. Check out our Citation Guide for other styles, and more in-depth information about Chicago. For help with citing primary sources, see this resource from the Library of Congress.

Best Bets

America: History and Life with Full Text

Scholarly journals, books, and dissertations covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from before European contact to the present.

America's Historical Newspapers

Early American Newspapers from 1690-1922 and African American Newspapers from 1827-1998.

American History in Video

Collection of newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage and documentaries.

Digital Public Library of America

DPLA materials come from America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of these are freely available and include; photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, etc.

Macalester WorldCat

Online catalog of materials owned by the library at Macalester College and libraries worldwide. Search for books, journal titles, videos, DVDs, articles, and much more. Macalester Worldcat will indicate which library (including Macalester) owns a particular item. Use the Interlibrary Loan button to ask for items owned by other libraries.

Sources for Context

Local Resources and Archives

Connecting with Mac Archives

You'll find our spaces on the 2nd Level of the Library (with a few exceptions) behind the wall of display cases. See more info and a few pictures here.

 

You'll find the door to the College Archives on Level 2 of the Library, right beyond the cafe-style seating area. We're Lib 218, the door with the window.

Door to Lib 218 the College Archives

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Archives consists of a main open area with workspace, oversize flat files, and collections storage. The rest of the Archives space is basically rows of shelving and boxes. Here you'll find reports, meeting minutes, correspondence, VHS tapes and audio cassettes, photographs, posters, digital files, publications, student org materials, scrapbooks, etc., that span from before the 19th century to documents created yesterday.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Rare Books Room is behind the Archives Classroom Lib 254. However if you have an appointment to do research using collections in the Rare Books Room, please come to the Archives door (Lib 218).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you come to the Library for a class session with the Archives or Special Collections, chances are we'll be meeting in this classroom, Lib 254, which is right behind the exhibit wall.

Ever wonder what's behind the sparkly blue curtain in the Wood Room (the children's book collection)?

We also have an overflow space on the Lower Level of the Library for collections storage and workspace.