It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getty Research PortalThis link opens in a new windowAccess to digitized art history texts in the public domain. A multilingual, multicultural union catalog. Search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art HistoryDiscover the story of art and global culture through The Met collection. Explore essays on a wide range of topics, including artists, materials, movements, and themes, and browse a selection of more than 8,000 works from the collection.
New American PaintingsTo date, New American Paintings has featured the work of more than three thousand painters from throughout the United States, many of whom have gone on to receive international attention. The publication benefits artists and viewers alike.
African ArtsA quarterly devoted to the graphic, plastic, performing, and literary arts of Africa.
Public Art ReviewPublished by Forecast Public Art since 1989, Public Art Review is a public art magazine. This international magazine offers a collection of articles, insights, ideas and commentary about art in public spaces.
Access to the "The Dictionary of Art" (formerly known as "The Grove Dictionary of Art") and "The Oxford Companion to Western Art." Offers additions of new and updated articles, thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles.
Resource of reference materials such as dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Provides database-wide searching, subject searching across sources, and individual title searching.
Organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work. Great resource for background information on social and political theory.
Call Number: eBook at MAC Lower Level - Art Collection N7476 .B37 2015
Publication Date: 2014-01-15
This text guides art students through the writing process. Students are shown how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture. The text includes: coverage of essential writing assignments including formal analysis, comparison, research paper, review of an exhibition, essay examination; clear step-by-step writing instructions guiding students though the research and writing processes; sample essays, with analytic comments by the author, demonstrating the virtues of effective writing. --Catalog record
Writing about Art by Henry M. SayreThis straightforward guide prepares students to describe, interpret, and write about works of art in meaningful and lasting terms. Designed as a supplement to Art History survey and period texts, this efficient book features a step-by-step approach to writing--from choosing a work to write about, to essay organization, to research techniques, to footnote form, to preparing the final essay. For beginners as well as more advanced students [Publisher description]
Call Number: eBook, and MAC Lower Level - Art Collection N7476 .S29 2009
Publication Date: 2008-07-10
The most commonly used citation style in historical scholarship is Chicago, notes and bibliography. Check out our Citation Guide for other styles, and more in-depth information about Chicago. For help with citing primary sources, see this resource from the Library of Congress.
Local Resources and Organizations
A handful of links to local resources and organizations here in the Twin Cities to help kick-start your research process.
Altered Esthetics (Ae) is a nonprofit community organization run by artists, for artists. Their mission is to foster an inclusive and sustainable arts community through exhibitions, education, and outreach.
East Side Arts Council is a community arts organization offering accessible, low-cost, or free arts programs led by accomplished professional artists. ESAC celebrates the diversity of its neighborhood and builds appreciation of the arts.
Minnesota Citizens for the Arts (MCA) is a statewide arts advocacy organization that organizes the arts community to lobby the Minnesota State Legislature and Congress. Their mission is to ensure opportunity for all people to have access to and involvement in the arts.