Art History
This is a guide for research in Art History.
Search the Library Catalog
Topic Overviews and Background Information
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to the "The Dictionary of Art" (formerly known as "The Grove Dictionary of Art") and "The Oxford Companion to Western Art." Offers additions of new and updated articles, thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles.
- eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
Sources for Scholarly Articles
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window The main database for research in art and art history. Includes both popular and academic titles.
- Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window A comprehensive index to scholarly work in in the Greek and Roman areas of Classical Studies, as well as on ancient Greek and Latin linguistics and language. Concerns the time period from the second millennium B.C. to roughly 500-800 A.D. Includes coverage of research collections and conferences.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Index covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window Indexes worldwide literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Covers Muslim life including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. Includes journals, conference proceedings, monographs and book reviews. Journals and books indexed o the article and chapter level.
eBook Collections
- A&AePortal This link opens in a new window
The A&AePortal is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
- MetPublications
Searchable and in many cases downloadable publications from the Metropolitan Museum of Art
- eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowAccess to e-books covering the arts & humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Getty Publications Virtual Library"Publications include illustrated works on artists and art history, exhibition catalogues, works on cultural history, research on the conservation of materials and archaeological sites, scholarly monographs, critical editions of translated works, comprehensive studies of the Getty's collections, and educational books on art..." --Website