Data Guide: Working with Data

The NADAC repository includes datasets on the arts and culture in the U.S. Topics covered include artists and cultural workers, engagement with the arts, and art education. NADAC is owned by the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA)

Data from numerous sources covering birth and death records, medical records, interviews with people and healthcare providers, direct physical examinations, laboratory testing, and more.

This database provides a thorough survey of enzyme information and resources.

United States Federal Government clearinghouse for linked, open government data.

The Asian Development Bank's (ADB) Data Library includes all of ADB's public data and features downloadable datasets and dashboards.

United States Federal Government clearinghouse for linked, open government data.

The World Bank Data Catalog is a listing of World Bank databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources. It includes data from the World Bank's microdata, finances and energy data platforms, as well as datasets from the open data catalog.

The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) publishes information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems.

United States Federal Government clearinghouse for linked, open government data.

NDACAN acquires microdata from leading researchers and national data collection efforts.

Criminal justice datasets and research documents from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories and the federal government.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research's data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Find data from the National Institute of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, and the FBI.

Houses the automated records of cases handled by courts with juvenile jurisdiction.

AIH is a mega network of live open data platforms (ODPs) electronically linking all African countries and 16 regional organizations. The overall objective is to significantly increase public access to official and other statistics across Africa, while at the same time supporting African countries to improve data quality, management, and dissemination.

The Asian Development Bank's (ADB) Data Library includes all of ADB's public data and features downloadable datasets and dashboards.

Demographic, economic and population data from the U.S. Census Bureau.

United States Federal Government clearinghouse for linked, open government data.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research's data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series, International provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.

Harmonized international survey data on maternal, child, and reproductive health. IPUMS Global Health provides integrated international health survey data at no cost for research and educational purposes from three data series: the Demographic Health Surveys (DHS), the UNICEF Multiple Indicator Cluster surveys (MICS), and Performance Monitoring for Action (PMA).

Harmonized data from U.S. National Health Surveys, the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) and the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS). The NHIS is a survey collecting information on the health, health care access, and health behaviors of the civilian, non-institutionalized U.S. population, with digital data files available from 1963 to present. IPUMS Health Surveys harmonizes these data and allows users to create custom NHIS data extracts for analysis.MEPS provides nationally representative, longitudinal data from 1996 to the present on health status, medical conditions, healthcare utilization, and healthcare expenditures for the U.S. civilian, non-institutionalized population.

The International Historical Geographic Information System (IHGIS) provides data tables from population and housing censuses as well as agricultural censuses from around the world, along with corresponding GIS boundary files.

IPUMS International is dedicated to collecting and distributing census microdata from around the world. The project goals are to collect and preserve data and documentation, harmonize data, and disseminate the harmonized data free of charge.

Access US Census data or data provided by the Metropolitan Council for the Minnesota Twin Cities region overall, or counties or communities within the seven-county metro. Includes data on construction, housing, employment, transportation, and more.

Race & Ethnicity reports from Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.

Data from longitudinal studies conducted by or in collaboration with the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Center for Demography of Health and Aging, including the Wisconsin Longitudinal Study (WLS), Latin American Mortality Database (LAMBdA) and High School & Beyond (HS&B:80). The Center for Demography of Health and Aging (CDHA) at the University of Wisconsin–Madison is one of twelve demography of aging centers funded by the National Institute on Aging (NIA).

Provides open access to thousands of scientifically-grounded, biological, physical, and socio-economic datasets on environmental conservation research.

AIH is a mega network of live open data platforms (ODPs) electronically linking all African countries and 16 regional organizations. The overall objective is to significantly increase public access to official and other statistics across Africa, while at the same time supporting African countries to improve data quality, management, and dissemination.

The Asian Development Bank's (ADB) Data Library includes all of ADB's public data and features downloadable datasets and dashboards.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.

United States Federal Government clearinghouse for linked, open government data.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research's data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series, International provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.

Harmonized data from U.S. National Health Surveys, the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) and the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS). The NHIS is a survey collecting information on the health, health care access, and health behaviors of the civilian, non-institutionalized U.S. population, with digital data files available from 1963 to present. IPUMS Health Surveys harmonizes these data and allows users to create custom NHIS data extracts for analysis.MEPS provides nationally representative, longitudinal data from 1996 to the present on health status, medical conditions, healthcare utilization, and healthcare expenditures for the U.S. civilian, non-institutionalized population.

The International Historical Geographic Information System (IHGIS) provides data tables from population and housing censuses as well as agricultural censuses from around the world, along with corresponding GIS boundary files.

The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.

IPUMS International is dedicated to collecting and distributing census microdata from around the world. The project goals are to collect and preserve data and documentation, harmonize data, and disseminate the harmonized data free of charge.

ILOSTAT is a database of international labor statistics. The database also includes several smaller databases on labor related topics, such as the Disability Labour Market Indicators (DLMI database), the Education and Mismatch Indicators (EMI database), and the
Gender Equality and Non-Discrimination Indicators (GEND database). ILOSTAT has a wealth of information on labour statistics, from free access to almost 100 million data points to extensive statistical guidance. Tips on getting started with finding data and statistical resources can be found on the ILOSTAT Getting Started page (https://ilostat.ilo.org/about/get-started/) Please note the site works best in Chrome. Some features and/or content may not be available on mobile. Annual data prior to 2008 and additional information, such as sources and methods, are still available in LABORSTA and gradually will be migrated to ILOSTAT.

The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.

Access US Census data or data provided by the Metropolitan Council for the Minnesota Twin Cities region overall, or counties or communities within the seven-county metro. Includes data on construction, housing, employment, transportation, and more.

Data source on the global economy containing statistical data for development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators which can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change and charted. Exporting options are available.

The Microdata Library facilitates access to data collected through sample surveys of households, business establishments or other facilities.

The World Bank Data Catalog is a listing of World Bank databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources. It includes data from the World Bank's microdata, finances and energy data platforms, as well as datasets from the open data catalog.

Demographic, economic and population data from the U.S. Census Bureau.

United States Federal Government clearinghouse for linked, open government data.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research's data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series, International provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.

IPUMS International is dedicated to collecting and distributing census microdata from around the world. The project goals are to collect and preserve data and documentation, harmonize data, and disseminate the harmonized data free of charge.

IPUMS Higher Ed disseminates data from the Scientists and Engineers Statistical Data System (SESTAT), the leading surveys for studying the science and engineering (STEM) workforce in the United States. Data from the National Surveys of College Graduates (NSCG), Recent College Graduates (NSRCG) and Doctorate Recipients (SDR) are integrated from 1993 to the present.

Country-level data including around 2,500 internationally comparable education indicators for access, progression, completion, literacy, teachers, population, and expenditures. The indicators cover the education cycle from pre-primary to tertiary education. The query also holds learning outcome data from international learning assessments (PISA, TIMSS, etc.), equity data from household surveys, and projection data to 2050.

The World Bank Data Catalog is a listing of World Bank databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources. It includes data from the World Bank's microdata, finances and energy data platforms, as well as datasets from the open data catalog.

Data source on the global economy containing statistical data for development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators which can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change and charted. Exporting options are available.

The Microdata Library facilitates access to data collected through sample surveys of households, business establishments or other facilities.

Data from longitudinal studies conducted by or in collaboration with the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Center for Demography of Health and Aging, including the Wisconsin Longitudinal Study (WLS), Latin American Mortality Database (LAMBdA) and High School & Beyond (HS&B:80). The Center for Demography of Health and Aging (CDHA) at the University of Wisconsin–Madison is one of twelve demography of aging centers funded by the National Institute on Aging (NIA).

To serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists, the ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. ANES data enable researchers to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes.

United States Federal Government clearinghouse for linked, open government data.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research's data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series, International provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.

Race & Ethnicity reports from Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.

The Asian Development Bank's (ADB) Data Library includes all of ADB's public data and features downloadable datasets and dashboards.

United States Federal Government clearinghouse for linked, open government data.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research's data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

The World Bank Data Catalog is a listing of World Bank databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources. It includes data from the World Bank's microdata, finances and energy data platforms, as well as datasets from the open data catalog.

The Asian Development Bank's (ADB) Data Library includes all of ADB's public data and features downloadable datasets and dashboards.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research's data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

The World Bank Data Catalog is a listing of World Bank databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources. It includes data from the World Bank's microdata, finances and energy data platforms, as well as datasets from the open data catalog.

Data source on the global economy containing statistical data for development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators which can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change and charted. Exporting options are available.

The Microdata Library facilitates access to data collected through sample surveys of households, business establishments or other facilities.

Demographic, economic and population data from the U.S. Census Bureau.

United States Federal Government clearinghouse for linked, open government data.

The International Historical Geographic Information System (IHGIS) provides data tables from population and housing censuses as well as agricultural censuses from around the world, along with corresponding GIS boundary files.

The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research's data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

The World Bank Data Catalog is a listing of World Bank databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources. It includes data from the World Bank's microdata, finances and energy data platforms, as well as datasets from the open data catalog.

Data source on the global economy containing statistical data for development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators which can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change and charted. Exporting options are available.

The Microdata Library facilitates access to data collected through sample surveys of households, business establishments or other facilities.

This EPA website provides an overview of air quality data collected by the EPA, as well as various means of accessing and interpreting it. The AirData website gives you access to air quality data collected at outdoor monitors across the United States, Puerto Rico, and the U. S. Virgin Islands. The data comes primarily from the AQS (Air Quality System) database.

Data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention hosts a repository of all available data sets with a Socrata Open Data API. Available categories include: Administrative, Biomonitoring, Child Vaccinations, Flu Vaccinations, Health Statistics, Injury & Violence, Motor Vehicle, NCHS, NNDSS, Pregnancy & Vaccination, STDs, Smoking & Tobacco Use, Teen Vaccinations, Traumatic Brain Injury, Vaccinations and Web Metrics.

United States Federal Government clearinghouse for linked, open government data.

NDACAN acquires microdata from leading researchers and national data collection efforts.

WHO Data includes datasets, repositories, and dashboards on global mortality, health inequality, and many other public health topics. The World Health Statistics Report, an annual compilation of the most recent available data on health and health-related indicators, includes country-level data.

Harmonized international survey data on maternal, child, and reproductive health. IPUMS Global Health provides integrated international health survey data at no cost for research and educational purposes from three data series: the Demographic Health Surveys (DHS), the UNICEF Multiple Indicator Cluster surveys (MICS), and Performance Monitoring for Action (PMA).

Harmonized data from U.S. National Health Surveys, the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) and the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS). The NHIS is a survey collecting information on the health, health care access, and health behaviors of the civilian, non-institutionalized U.S. population, with digital data files available from 1963 to present. IPUMS Health Surveys harmonizes these data and allows users to create custom NHIS data extracts for analysis.MEPS provides nationally representative, longitudinal data from 1996 to the present on health status, medical conditions, healthcare utilization, and healthcare expenditures for the U.S. civilian, non-institutionalized population.

The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.

Mendeley Data is an open research data repository, where researchers can upload and share their research data. Some academic journals use this as their repository for their research data, for example see Regional Science & Urban Economics

The National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program acquires, preserves and disseminates data relevant to drug addiction and HIV research.

Data from numerous sources covering birth and death records, medical records, interviews with people and healthcare providers, direct physical examinations, laboratory testing, and more.

Data from the National Cancer Institute.

The World Bank Data Catalog is a listing of World Bank databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources. It includes data from the World Bank's microdata, finances and energy data platforms, as well as datasets from the open data catalog.

Data from longitudinal studies conducted by or in collaboration with the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Center for Demography of Health and Aging, including the Wisconsin Longitudinal Study (WLS), Latin American Mortality Database (LAMBdA) and High School & Beyond (HS&B:80). The Center for Demography of Health and Aging (CDHA) at the University of Wisconsin–Madison is one of twelve demography of aging centers funded by the National Institute on Aging (NIA).