Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin American Studies
Selected resources for Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin American Studies.
Research and Instruction Librarian
Best Bets
Key resources for beginning research in this field:
-
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) Index to scholarly journals, books, and conference papers in the social sciences and humanities covering the field of Latin American studies.
-
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) Contains Spanish and English language articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in key national and international social science and humanities journals.
-
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture Signed, scholarly entries and essays, with attached bibliographies for further reading.
-
Historical Abstracts Index covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
The Latin America Reader Series
This series provides important context and background for each chosen primary source in the reader.
-
The Argentina Reader: History, Culture, and Society
by
"Many selections deal with the history of indigenous Argentines, workers, women, blacks, and other groups often ignored in descriptions of the country. At the same time, the book includes excerpts by or about such major political figures as José de San Martín and Juan Perón. Pieces from literary and social figures virtually unknown in the United States appear alongside those by more well-known writers such as Jorge Luis Borges, Ricardo Piglia, and Julio Cortázar. It covers the Spanish colonial regime; the years of nation building following Argentina's independence from Spain in 1810; and the sweeping progress of economic growth and cultural change that made Argentina, by the turn of the twentieth century, the most modern country in Latin America. The bulk of the collection focuses on the twentieth century: on the popular movements that enabled Peronism and the revolutionary dreams of the 1960s and 1970s; on the dictatorship from 1976 to 1983 and the accompanying culture of terror and resistance; and, finally, on the contradictory and disconcerting tendencies unleashed by the principles of neoliberalism and the new global economy."--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: eBook and MAC Stacks - Level 4 F2810 .A646 2002ISBN: 9780822328858Publication Date: 2002-12-25 -
The Brazil Reader : History, Culture, Politics
by
"Indispensable introduction to Brazil for students and general readers includes short scholarly articles, interviews, documents, photographs, and many autobiographical pieces. Begins with precontact indigenous peoples, but about half deals with Brazil since 1945. Topics include indigenous peoples, slavery, Vargas and labor, political protest, women, race relations, marginal groups, and popular culture. Overarching themes are mobility and repression" -- Handbook of Latin American Studies, v. 58.
Call Number: eBook and MAC Stacks - Level 4 F2521 .B768 2018ISBN: 9780822370925Publication Date: 2019-01-18 -
The Chile reader : history, culture, politics
by
The Chile Reader makes available a rich variety of documents spanning more than five hundred years of Chilean history. Most of the selections are by Chileans; many have never before appeared in English. The history of Chile is rendered from diverse perspectives, including those of Mapuche Indians and Spanish colonists, peasants and aristocrats, feminists and military strongmen, entrepreneurs and workers, and priests and poets. Among the many selections are interviews, travel diaries, letters, diplomatic cables, cartoons, photographs, and song lyrics. Texts and images, each introduced by the editors, provide insights into the ways that Chile's unique geography has shaped its national identity, the country's unusually violent colonial history, and the stable but autocratic republic that emerged after independence from Spain. They illuminate Chile's role in the world economy, the social impact of economic modernization, and the enduring problems of deep inequality. The Reader also covers Chile's bold experiments with reform and revolution, its descent into one of Latin America's most ruthless Cold War dictatorships, and its much admired transition to democracy and a market economy in the years since dictatorship. -- BOOK COVER.
Call Number: eBook and MAC Stacks - Level 4 F3081 .C485 2013ISBN: 0822353466Publication Date: 2013-11-29 -
The Colombia Reader : history, culture, politics
by
Containing over one hundred selections-most of them published in English for the first time-The Colombia Reader presents a rich and multilayered account of this complex nation from the colonial era to the present. The collection includes journalistic reports, songs, artwork, poetry, oral histories, government documents, and scholarship to illustrate the changing ways Colombians from all walks of life have made and understood their own history. Comprehensive in scope, it covers regional differences; religion, art, and culture; the urban/rural divide; patterns of racial, economic, and gender inequalities; the history of violence; and the transnational flows that have shaped the nation. "The Colombia Reader" expands readers' knowledge of Colombia beyond its reputation for violence, contrasting experiences of conflict with the stability and significance of cultural, intellectual, and economic life in this plural nation. --Catalog record
Call Number: eBook and MAC Stacks - Level 4 F2258 .C677 2017ISBN: 9780822362074Publication Date: 2017-01-03 -
The Costa Rica reader : history, culture, politics
by
An introduction to Costa Rica, this book includes over 50 texts related to the history, culture, politics, & natural environment. Most are written by Costa Ricans & many are translated for the first time. --Catalog record
Call Number: eBook and MAC Stacks - Level 4 F1546 .C765 2004ISBN: 0822333864Publication Date: 2004-10-29 -
The Cuba reader : history, culture, politics
by
"It combines songs, paintings, photographs, poems, short stories, speeches, cartoons, government reports and proclamations, and pieces by historians, journalists, and others. Most of these are by Cubans, and many appear for the first time in English. The writings and speeches of José Martí, Fernando Ortiz, Fidel Castro, Alejo Carpentier, Che Guevera, and Reinaldo Arenas appear alongside the testimonies of slaves, prostitutes, doctors, travelers, and activists. Some selections examine health, education, Catholicism, and santería; others celebrate Cuba's vibrant dance, music, film, and literary cultures. The volume presents a number of pieces about twentieth-century Cuba, including the events leading up to and following Castro's January 1959 announcement of revolution. It provides a look at Cuba in relation to the rest of the world: the effect of its revolution on Latin America and the Caribbean, its alliance with the Soviet Union from the 1960s until the collapse of the Soviet bloc in 1989, and its tumultuous relationship with the United States. It also describes life in the periodo especial following the cutoff of Soviet aid and the tightening of the U.S. embargo."--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: eBook and MAC Stacks - Level 4 F1776 .C85 2003ISBN: 0822331845Publication Date: 2004-02-04 -
The Ecuador reader : history, culture, politics
by
Encompassing Amazonian rainforests, Andean peaks, coastal lowlands, and the Galapagos Islands, Ecuador's geography is notably diverse. So too are its history, culture, and politics, all of which are examined from many perspectives in The Ecuador Reader. Spanning the years before the arrival of the Spanish in the early 1500s to the present, this rich anthology addresses colonialism, independence, the nation's integration into the world economy, and its tumultuous twentieth century. Interspersed among forty-eight written selections are more than three dozen images. The voices and creations of Ecuadorian politicians, writers, artists, scholars, activists, and journalists fill the Reader, from Jose Maria Velasco Ibarra, the nation's ultimate populist and five-time president, to Pancho Jaime, a political satirist; from Julio Jaramillo, a popular twentieth-century singer, to anonymous indigenous women artists who produced ceramics in the 1500s; and from the poems of Afro-Ecuadorians, to the fiction of the vanguardist Pablo Palacio, to a recipe for traditional Quiteno-style shrimp. The Reader includes an interview with Nina Pacari, the first indigenous woman elected to Ecuador's national assembly, and a reflection on how to balance tourism with the protection of the Galapagos Islands' magnificent ecosystem. Complementing selections by Ecuadorians, many never published in English, are samples of some of the best writing on Ecuador by outsiders, including an account of how an indigenous group with non-Inca origins came to see themselves as definitively Incan, an exploration of the fascination with the Andes from the 1700s to the present, chronicles of the less-than-exemplary behavior of U.S. corporations in Ecuador, an examination of Ecuadorians' overseas migration, and a look at the controversy surrounding the selection of the first black Miss Ecuador. --Catalog record
Call Number: eBook and MAC Stacks - Level 4 F3731 .E37 2008ISBN: 9780822343523Publication Date: 2009-01-16 -
The Guatemala Reader : History, Culture, Politics
by
This Reader brings together more than 200 texts and images in a broad introduction to Guatemala's history, culture, and politics. In choosing the selections, the editors sought to avoid representing the country only in terms of its long experience of conflict, racism, and violence. And so, while offering many perspectives on that violence, this anthology portrays Guatemala as a real place where people experience joys and sorrows that can not be reduced to the contretemps of resistance and repression. It includes not only the opinions of politicians, activists, and scholars, but also poems, songs, plays, jokes, novels, short stories, recipes, art, and photographs that capture the diversity of everyday life in Guatemala. The editors introduce all of the selections, from the first piece, an excerpt from the Popol vuh, a mid-sixteenth-century text believed to be the single most important source documenting pre-Hispanic Maya culture, through the final selections, which explore contemporary Guatemala in relation to neoliberalism, multiculturalism, and the dynamics of migration to the United States and of immigrant life. Many pieces were originally published in Spanish, and most of those appear in English for the first time. -- BOOK COVER.
Call Number: eBook and MAC Stacks - 4th Floor F1466 .G877 2001ISBN: 9780822350941Publication Date: 2011-10-31 -
The Lima Reader : History, Culture, Politics
by
Covering more than five hundred years of history, culture, and politics, The Lima Reader captures the multiple viewpoints of the diverse peoples of Peru's capital city. The volume traces Lima's transformation from a pre-Columbian religious center, to the colonial "City of Kings," to today's vibrant and deeply divided metropolis of almost ten million people. A rich array of primary sources-including traveler accounts, essays, photographs, maps, poems, short stories, lyrics, and memoir excerpts, many appearing in English for the first time-address how Lima's multiethnic population, class inequalities, and debates of who is a "true" limeno/a have evolved throughout the city's history. The book also includes selections that explore Lima's identity through its food, sports culture, festivals, and sense of humor. Intended for travelers, students, and scholars alike, The Lima Reader is an invaluable introduction to the complex social tensions and cultural history of Lima and its people. --Catalog record
Call Number: MAC Stacks - Level 4 F3601.2 .L563 2017ISBN: 9780822363378Publication Date: 2017-04-28 -
The Mexico reader : history, culture, politics
by
"A diverse collection of more than eighty selections, [including] ... poetry, folklore, fiction, polemics, photo essays, songs, political cartoons, memoirs, satire, and scholarly writing"--Page 4 of cover.
Call Number: eBook and MAC Stacks - Level 4 F1226 .M53 2002ISBN: 0822330067Publication Date: 2003-01-16 -
The Peru Reader
by
Call Number: eBook and MAC Stacks - Level 4 F3431 .P478 1995ISBN: 0822316013Publication Date: 1995-06-01"Vast, multidisciplinary collection contains previously published articles and excerpts from books on Peruvian themes. Concerns archaeology, history, political systems, resistance movements, drugs, and cultural issues. Includes ethnographic contributions of Peruvianists such as Irene Silverblatt, John Murra, José María Arguedes, Catherine Allen, Orin Starn, and others"--Handbook of Latin American Studies, v. 57. -
The Rio de Janeiro Reader : History, Culture, Politics
by
Spanning a period of over 450 years, The Rio de Janeiro Reader traces the history, culture, and politics of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, through the voices, images, and experiences of those who have made the city's history. It outlines Rio's transformation from a hardscrabble colonial outpost and strategic port into an economic, cultural, and entertainment capital of the modern world. The volume contains a wealth of primary sources, many of which appear here in English for the first time. A mix of government documents, lyrics, journalism, speeches, ephemera, poems, maps, engravings, photographs, and other sources capture everything from the fantastical impressions of the first European arrivals to the complaints about roving capoeira gangs, and from sobering eyewitness accounts of slavery's brutality to the glitz of Copacabana. The definitive English-language resource on the city, The Rio de Janeiro Reader presents the "Marvelous City" in all its complexity, importance, and intrigue. -- Catalog record
Call Number: eBook and MAC Stacks - Level 4 F2646.3 .R568 2016ISBN: 9780822359746Publication Date: 2016-01-05
Primary Sources For Latin American Studies
Primary Source Anthologies in the Library Collection
-
Born in Blood and Fire
by
A thematic anthology of primary sources for Latin American social and cultural history, this reader draws on newspapers, novels, magazines, and journals - many translated by Chasteen himself- to present compelling narrative accounts of life and society across Latin American history.--Publisher's description.
Call Number: MAC Stacks Level 4 F1410 .B697 2016ISBN: 9780393283068Publication Date: 2016-06-14 -
Colonial Latin America
by
Primary source documents primarily dated from the 1500s-early 1800s, translated into English.
Call Number: eBook and MAC Stacks Level 4 F1412 .C642 2002ISBN: 9780842029964Publication Date: 2002-08-01 -
Colonial Lives
by
Offers a rich variety of archival documents in translation which bring to life the political and economic workings of Latin American colonies during 300 years of Spanish rule, as well as the day-to-day lives of the colonies' inhabitants. --Catalog record
Call Number: MAC Stacks - Level 4 F1410 .C725 2000ISBN: 9780195125122Publication Date: 1999-12-23 -
Latin America, a historical reader.
by
Selections from the 2d., rev. ed. of the author's History of Latin American civilization: sources and interpretations, published in 1973.
Call Number: MAC Stacks - Level 4 F1408.3 .H323Publication Date: 1973
-
New Iberian World: a documentary history of the discovery and settlement of Latin America to the early 17th century
by
Extensive reproductions and excerpts of primary source documents. Includes maps and a glossary.
Call Number: eBook and MAC Reference - Main Level F1411 .I18 1984 v.1-5ISBN: 0812910702Publication Date: 1984-05-12
-
Women and Gender in Modern Latin America
by
Call Number: MAC Stacks - Level 4 HQ1460.5 .W6145 2014ISBN: 9780415894548Publication Date: 2014-03-12"A collection of documents that illuminate women's roles in modern Latin American history, including current writing by scholars in the field, and primary sources such as interviews, speeches, testimony, government documents, and private correspondence, with introductions by the editor. Topics covered include feminism; labor and economics; revolution; and sex, marriage, and motherhood"-- Provided by publisher.
Selected Open Online Primary Source Collections for Latin American Studies
-
Latin American Network Information Center LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. It is no longer being updated, but has links to rich resources.
-
BDPI BDPI (Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano) is a project launched by the Asociación de Bibliotecas Nacionales de Iberoamérica (ABINIA). Its objective is the creation of a portal which provides access, from a single search point, to the digital resources of all the participating libraries.
-
Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is Princeton’s project to provide access to its unparalleled Latin American Ephemera Collection. The bulk of the materials currently found in the Digital Archive were originally created around the turn of the 20th century and after, with some originating as recently as within the last year.
-
LLILAS Benson Digital Collections Some of the best online collections for Latin American history, at the University of Texas: Austin
-
Liberalism in the Americas Digital Archive Latin America was born liberal; the products of, and an experiments in, political philosophies and forms of government forged in the fire of the Enlightenment. Of course, this liberalism was not applied evenly, and many throughout Latin America were and continue to be denied full access to what its original champions promised to deliver. Today neo-liberal economic prescriptions have been embraced in some countries but are openly rejected in others, while ‘political’ liberalism faces competition from a number of alternatives. And yet, for these very reasons, liberalism remains the key referent in current debates on the economic and political direction that the nations of Latin America should take. As in earlier periods, the primacy of liberalism today is contested but its centrality to the economic and political identity of Latin America is clear. The library contains key annotated texts that shaped liberal thought such as political pamphlets, judicial records, and political ephemera. --Website
-
Latin American Open Archives Portal The Latin American Open Archives Portal is a project of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project - LARRP, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center - LANIC, to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America. The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web."
-
U Kansas guide to Latin American Open Access Journals University of Kansas has created an extensive guide to open access (free to use) journals in Latin America and Spain.
-
Slave Societies Digital Archive Dedicated to identifying, cataloging, and digitally preserving endangered archival materials documenting the history of Africans and their descendants in the Atlantic World. The SSDA’s largest and oldest collections were generated by the Catholic Church, which mandated the baptism of African slaves in the fifteenth century and later extended this requirement to the Iberian New World. The baptismal records preserved in Slave Societies are the oldest and most uniform serial data available for the history of Africans in the Atlantic World and offer the most extensive information regarding their ethnic origins. Once baptized, Africans and their descendants were eligible for the sacraments of Christian marriage and burial, adding to their historical record. Through membership in the Catholic Church families also generated a host of other religious documentation such as confirmations, petitions to wed, wills, and even annulments. In addition, Africans and their descendants joined church brotherhoods organized along ethnic lines, through which they recorded not only ceremonial and religious aspects of their lives but their social, political, and economic networks as well. Africans and their descendants also left a documentary trail in municipal and provincial archives across the Atlantic World. These secular records, which Slave Societies is now preserving too, include bills of sale, property registries and disputes, dowries, and letters of manumission, among many other types of records. --Website
-
Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960–1985 Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960–1985 presents the work of 120 women artists and collectives active in Latin America and the United States during a key period in Latin American history and the development of contemporary art. The artists represent fifteen countries and include emblematic figures such as Lygia Clark, Ana Mendieta, and Marta Minujín as well as lesser-known contemporaries such as the Cuban-born abstract artist Zilia Sánchez, the Colombian sculptor Feliza Bursztyn, and the Brazilian video artist Letícia Parente. The exhibition is the first survey of radical and feminist art practices in Latin America and among Latina artists in the United States. --Website
-
Cuban Film Poster Collection Includes images of posters dating back to 1962.
-
Museo de la Palabra y la Imagen Citizen-driven, the MUPI is in charge of saving important and valuable audiovisual archives, which were inside and outside of El Salvador, in addition to the recordings of the daily programs of Radio Venceremos, the clandestine radio station that during 11 years of civil war transmitted from the mountains of Morazán. The photo archive is of particular note. CW: war, death. In Spanish and English. --Website
-
Digital Library of the Caribbean dLOC is a cooperative of partners within the Caribbean region that provides access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections. Types of materials include; newspapers, official documents, documentation and numeric data for ecosystems, scientific scholarship, historic and contemporary maps, oral histories, travel accounts, literature, poetry, musical expressions, and artifacts.
