INTL 294: Infrastructure and Inequality
Environmental Research Resources
-
Minnesota Issue Guide Nuclear Waste Storage in MinnesotaThis guide is compiled by staff at the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library on a topic of interest to state legislators. It introduces the topic and points to sources for further research.
-
Environmental MonitoringThe Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) maintains an environmental monitoring program for radioactivity around the two nuclear generating power plants in the state. The program is designed to assess the impact of the nuclear generating plants to the environment and the public over a period time.
-
Academic Search PremierInterdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
-
Google Scholar
Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.
-
GreenFILEResearch database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling and beyond.
-
Independent VoicesIndependent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
-
JSTOR
Large collection of scholarly journals and books from all disciplines, with stronger coverage for the humanities and social sciences. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.
-
Left Index
Covers the literature of the Left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social, and cultural scholarship both inside and outside academia. Topics covered include labor movements, the environment, race, sociology, art, philosophy, history, education, and globalization.
-
CQ ResearcherAccess to original reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
-
Credo Reference
Access to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
-
eBooks (Gale)Search across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.